The State Laws of Minnesota

The State Laws of Minnesota

Share
The State Laws of Minnesota

Disclaimer:

Due to the fact that individual state laws are constantly subject to change, individuals are encouraged to consult an attorney prior to engaging in any activity, action, or event in which the expressed legality may come into question. Furthermore, individuals interested in attaining information with regard to individual state legislature are also encouraged to perform independent research in order to substantiate the relevancy and current state(s) of specific legislation. 

Minnesota Abortion Laws

•    Statutory Definition of Illegal Abortion in Minnesota: Failure to meet standards of legal abortion; sale or manufacture of drug, substance, or instrument intended for unlawful use in miscarriage or abortion procedure; act, procedure, or use of any instrument, medicine, or drug which is supplied, prescribed for, or administered to a pregnant woman which results in the termination of pregnancy

•    Statutory Definition of Legal Abortion in Minnesota: Before viability, by a trained M.D. After viability (second half of gestation), must be performed in hospital and necessary to preserve life, health of mother and procedure used will reasonably assure live birth. After 20th week, 2nd M.D. must be immediately accessible for any resulting live birth

•    Penalty for Unlawful Abortion: Considered a felony; punishments will vary on a case by case basis.

Minnesota Marijuana Laws

•    Possession: Small amount: petty misdemeanor $200 and maybe drug education program; 10+ kg.: up to 20 yrs. and/or $250,000; 50-100 kg.: up to 25 yrs. and/or $500,000; 100+ kg.: up to 30 yrs. and/or $1,000,000; Subsequent offense: depends on level of prior offense; if misdemeanor, may be required to participate in chemical dependency evaluation and treatment

•    Code: 152.01

•    Sale: Any small amount for sale: up to 5 yrs. and/or $10,000; Small amount without remuneration: petty misdemeanor with fine of up to $200 and maybe drug education program; 5+ kg.: up to 20 yrs. and/or $250,000; 25+ kg.: up to 25 yrs. and/or $500,000; 50+ kg.: up to 30 yrs. and/or $1,000,000; 5 kg. or more in school or park or public housing zone: up to 25 yrs. and/or $500,000

Minnesota DWI and DUI Laws

Driving while intoxicated (DWI) and driving while under the influence (DUI) charges exist in the event that an individual ingests illegal drugs, alcohol, or controlled-substances, which may impair their respective ability to safely operate a motor vehicle; the following DUI and DWI laws exist within the state of Minnesota:

•    Zero tolerance laws exist in the event that an individual below the legal age permissible to consume alcohol is suspected to be unlawfully operating a motor vehicle; within the state of Minnesota, the Zero Tolerance Blood Alcohol Content Level (BAC) cannot exceed .02%

•    The BAC limit for individuals operating motor vehicles may not reach .08%; this can constitute a DUI or DWI offense

•    Penalties for DUI Offense: 90 day license suspension for first offense, 180 days for 2nd offense, 1 year for third offense. Mandatory alcohol and education treatment is necessary upon 3rd offense. Vehicle confiscation is possible following 3rd offense and ignition interlock device is possible.

•    In Minnesota, there currently exist no supplementary penalties incurred due to BAC levels exceeding the expressed, legal limit

•    Implied consent is a legal instrument that is employed within the realm of a DUI Arrest that entails a verbal or written contract resulting from the willing participation in a regulated activity, such as the operation of a motor vehicle; within Minnesota, law enforcement agents are permitted to act in accordance with implied consent laws

•    Upon a DUI or DWI conviction, and individuals is subject to undergo the loss of driving privileges for a period of no less than 90 days’ time;  penalties can range upwards of 1 year in addition to the installation of an ignition interlock device

Minnesota Gun Laws

•    A state permit is required to purchase handguns, but not long guns

•    Firearm registration is not required

•    Minnesota partially follows assault weapons law

•    A license of ownership is not required

•    Carry permits are issued for handguns, but not for long guns

Minnesota Adoption Laws

In the state of Minnesota, an individual who has been deemed as a law-abiding citizen who is of sound mind and moral character is permitted to adopt a child:

•    Within the state of Minnesota, and individual must maintain residence for a period of no less than 1 year unless length of residence is reduced to 30 days in child’s best interest

•    Any individual may be adopted; children above the age(s) of 14 must express consent with regard to a potential adoption

•    Within the state of Minnesota, the Humane Services mandates all adoptions

Minnesota Employment and Labor Laws

•    Within the state of Minnesota, the minimum wage is 7 dollars and 15 cents awarded per hour of labor

•    State Holidays are listed as: New Year's Day, Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Thanksgiving, and Christmas - Veteran’s Day, Martin Luther King, Jr.'s Birthday, and President’s Day result in the closing of public institutions only upon the decision set forth by the local board of trustees and government

•    Within the state of Minnesota, an individual’s employ cannot be terminated in the event that they report a violation or hazard taking place with regard to their respective employment – or place of employment

Minnesota Divorce Laws

Within the state of Minnesota, a divorce is defined as the termination of a marriage, which can occur upon a decision set forth by one or both partners involved in the marriage:

•    A divorce must be filed subsequent to 60 days residence within the state of Minnesota; in the event that an individual –or individuals – were married in Minnesota and lived there on a continuous basis, a time constraint for filing does not exist

•    ‘No Fault’ divorce does exist on the grounds of irreconcilable differences

Minnesota Death Penalty Laws 

•    Minnesota does not practice capital punishment

Minnesota Gambling Laws

Within the state of Minnesota, Gambling is defined as the purposeful risking of any or all assets, property or monies with the intention of gain; a primary stipulation exists that expressed that the individual retains no control of peripheral outcome(s) with regard to any wagers set forth:

•    Horse racing wagering is legal for licensed individuals 

•    Dog racing wagering is legal

•    Any and all unsanctioned structures and facilities intended to house gambling activity is deemed as illegal in the state of Minnesota except for casinos on tribal land governed by Indian Gaming Regulatory Act

Minnesota Child Laws

Within the state of Minnesota, the following stipulations with regard to child laws and child custody are recognized:

•    Joint custody is permitted

•    The rights implied within grandparental visitation are recognized

•    The wishes of any or all children involves are taken into consideration with regard to a custody decision

 

Comments

comments

Share

Related Articles


Categories

Read previous post:
The State Laws of Louisiana

Close