Home State Laws

State Laws

The State Laws of Nebraska

The State Laws of Nebraska

Disclaimer: 

Due to the fact that individual state laws are constantly subject to change, individuals are encouraged to consult an attorney prior to engaging in any activity, action, or event in which the expressed legality may come into question. Furthermore, individuals interested in attaining information with regard to individual state legislature are also encouraged to perform independent research in order to substantiate the relevancy and current state(s) of specific legislation. 

Nebraska Abortion Laws

Within the state of Nebraska, Abortion is defined as the purposeful termination of a pregnancy through procedural means. Subsequent to the decision of Roe v. Wade, abortion became legal within the United States – however, Nebraska state legislation expresses a variety of stipulations with regard to a legal abortion process:

•    A legal abortion may occur in the event that the protection and preservation of the life of the mother carrying a fetus is compromised as a result of a pregnancy; an abortion can take place in order to save the life of the mother only upon accredited and sanctioned medical review

•    Individuals pregnant as a result of rape, abuse, or incest will require the expressed permission from a licensed, accredited medical professional with regards to an abortion

•    An illegal abortion is deemed as an abortion process that occurs in the event that the health and wellbeing of the mother is not in danger; furthermore, an illegal abortion is defined as a procedure that occurs outside of legal, accepted, and authorized medical procedural protocol – in the state of Nebraska, unauthorized individuals conducting abortions may be charged with Class 3 Misdemeanor charges

Nebraska Marijuana Laws

Within the state of Nebraska, the possession of Marijuana – or Cannabis products – as well as the acts of growing or distributing marijuana without the expressed permission of the Nebraska State Government is a punishable, criminal offense. The following penalties are associated with Marijuana within the state of Nebraska:

Possession/Under the Influence of Marijuana

1.    Amount: 1 ounce or less (first offense)

•    Penalty: none

•    Fines: $300

•    Classification: receipt of civil citation

2.    Amount: 1 ounce or less (second offense)

•    Penalty: 5 days’ incarceration

•    Fines: $400

•    Classification: misdemeanor

3.    Amount: 1 ounce or less (subsequent offense)

•    Penalty: 7 days’ incarceration

•    Fines: $500

•    Classification: misdemeanor

4.    Amount: 1 ounce to 1 pound

•    Penalty: 7 days’ incarceration

•    Fines: $500

•    Classification: misdemeanor

5.    Amount: More than 1 pound

•    Penalty: 5 years’ incarceration

•    Fines: $10,000

•    Classification: felony

Cultivation and/or Intent to Distribute Marijuana

Supplementary Charges include Possession, Sale, and Sale to a minor with regard to Drug Paraphernalia; Marijuana charges may be subject to increase to the proximity to a school zone – sale to a minor may also incur additional fines and incarceration

6.    Amount: Any

•    Penalty: 1 – 20 years’ incarceration; minimum sentence of 1 year

•    Fines: $25,000

•    Classification: felony

7.    Amount: Any (sale to a minor)

•    Penalty: 3 – 20 years’ incarceration; minimum sentence of 3 year

•    Fines: $50,000

•    Classification: felony

8.    Amount: Any (within the vicinity of a school zone)

•    Penalty: 3 – 50 years’ incarceration; minimum sentence of 3 year

•    Fines: $50,000

•    Classification: felony

Medical Marijuana

Within the state of Nebraska, Medical Marijuana is considered to be illegal both for patient use and cultivation

Nebraska DWI and DUI Laws

Driving while intoxicated (DWI) and driving while under the influence (DUI) charges exist in the event that an individual ingests illegal drugs, alcohol, or controlled-substances, which may impair their respective ability to safely operate a motor vehicle; the following DUI and DWI laws exist within the state of Nebraska:

•    Zero tolerance laws exist in the event that an individual below the legal age permissible to consume alcohol is suspected to be unlawfully operating a motor vehicle; within the state of Nebraska, the Zero Tolerance Blood Alcohol Content Level (BAC) cannot exceed .02%

•    The BAC limit for individuals operating motor vehicles may not reach .08%; this can constitute a DUI or DWI offense

•    In Nebraska, supplementary penalties may be incurred due to BAC levels exceeding .15%

•    Implied consent is a legal instrument that is employed within the realm of a DUI Arrest that entails a verbal or written contract resulting from the willing participation in a regulated activity, such as the operation of a motor vehicle; within Nebraska, law enforcement agents are permitted to act in accordance with implied consent laws

•    Upon a DUI or DWI conviction, and individuals is subject to undergo the loss of driving privileges for a period of no less than 90 days’ time;  penalties can range upwards of 1 year – this is in addition to the installation of an ignition interlock device

Nebraska Gun Laws

A handgun is a firearm whose smaller size is fashioned to be used upon operation by one hand, which typically fire single round ammunition; within the state of Nebraska, gun laws are as follows:

•    Within the state of Nebraska, minors under the age(s) of 18 are not permitted to own or purchase pistols, revolvers, or firearms fashioned with a short-barrel without supervision; convicted felons or fugitives are not permitted to own or purchase firearms with barrels exceeding 18 inches in length

•    A waiting period for the purchase of a firearm does not currently exist in the state of Nebraska

•    Current listing or report of forearms considered to be illegal in the state of Nebraska: altered firearms, sawed-off riles or shotguns, stolen firearms, and machine guns

Nebraska Adoption Laws

In the state of Nebraska, an individual who has been deemed as a law-abiding citizen who is of sound mind and moral character is permitted to adopt a child; individuals whom are wed must agree to an adoption in a joint fashion:

•    Any individual may be adopted; children above the age(s) of 14 must express consent with regard to a potential adoption

•    Within the state of Nebraska, and individual must maintain residence for a period of no less than 6 months, unless the individual for adoption is legally-classified as an adult

•    Within the state of Nebraska, the Department of Social Services mandates all adoptions

•    The statute of limitations available to challenge an adoption is 2 years’ time subsequent to the adoption

Nebraska Employment and Labor Laws

•    Within the state of Nebraska, the minimum wage is $6.55 – $7.25awarded per hour of labor

•    Within the state of Nebraska, an individual’s employ cannot be terminated in the event that they report a violation or hazard taking place with regard to their respective employment – or place of employment

Nebraska Divorce Laws

Within the state of Nebraska, a divorce is defined as the termination of a marriage, which can occur upon a decision set forth by one or both partners involved in the marriage:

•    A divorce must be filed by an individual resident of Nebraska; one member of the couple in question must be a resident of the state of Nebraska

•    ‘No Fault’ divorce does exist on the grounds of irretrievable breakdown

•    Divorces may only be filed no less than 60 days subsequent to the marriage ceremony

Nebraska Death Penalty Laws

Within the state of Nebraska, Capital Punishment – or the Death Penalty – is legal; however, additional stipulations exist with regard to this procedure:

•    In the event of mental instability or pregnancy, capital punishment is disallowed

•    The minimum age permissible for a capital punishment sentence is 18 years of age

•    Within the state of Nebraska, homicide is considered to be the only crimes punishable by death

•    The accepted means of capital punishment is the administration of electrocution

Nebraska Gambling Laws

Within the state of Nebraska, Gambling is defined as the purposeful risking of any or all assets, property or monies with the intention of gain; a primary stipulation exists that expressed that the individual retains no control of peripheral outcome(s) with regard to any wagers set forth:

•    Licensed Horse racing wagering is legal

•    Gambling is permissible on Native American land; any and all unsanctioned structures and facilities intended to house gambling activity are deemed as illegal in the state of Nebraska

Nebraska Child Laws

Within the state of Nebraska, the following stipulations with regard to child laws and child custody are recognized:

•    Joint custody is permitted

•    The rights implied within grandparental visitation are recognized

•    The wishes of any or all children involves are taken into consideration with regard to a custody decision

The State Laws of Nevada

The State Laws of Nevada

Disclaimer:

 Due to the fact that individual state laws are constantly subject to change, individuals are encouraged to consult an attorney prior to engaging in any activity, action, or event in which the expressed legality may come into question. Furthermore, individuals interested in attaining information with regard to individual state legislature are also encouraged to perform independent research in order to substantiate the relevancy and current state(s) of specific legislation. 

Nevada Abortion Laws

Within the state of Nevada, Abortion is defined as the purposeful termination of a pregnancy through procedural means. Subsequent to the decision of Roe v. Wade, abortion became legal within the United States – however, Nevada state legislation expresses a variety of stipulations with regard to a legal abortion process:

•    Subsequent to 24 weeks of pregnancy, a legal abortion may occur in the event that the protection and preservation of the life of the mother carrying a fetus is compromised as a result of a pregnancy; an abortion can take place in order to save the life of the mother only upon accredited and sanctioned medical review

•    Nevada State protects the ‘right to choose’ granted to a Mother; in the event that the development of a fetus does not exceed 24 weeks of pregnancy, a consensual abortion is considered to be legal – this excludes infanticide and partial birth abortion 

•    An illegal abortion is deemed as an abortion process that occurs in the event that the health and wellbeing of the mother is not in danger; furthermore, an illegal abortion is defined as a procedure that occurs outside of legal, accepted, and authorized medical procedural protocol – in the state of Nevada, unauthorized individuals conducting abortions may be charged with wrongful death or malpractice

Nevada Marijuana Laws

Within the state of Nevada, the possession of Marijuana – or Cannabis products – as well as the acts of growing or distributing marijuana without the expressed permission of the Nevada State Government is a punishable, criminal offense. The following penalties are associated with Marijuana within the state of Nevada:

Possession/Under the Influence of Marijuana

1.    Amount: Less than 1 ounce (first offense)

•    Penalty: rehabilitation and/or substance abuse treatment

•    Fines: $600

•    Classification: misdemeanor

2.    Amount: Less than 1 ounce (second offense)

•    Penalty: rehabilitation and/or substance abuse treatment

•    Fines: $1,000

•    Classification: misdemeanor

3.    Amount: Less than 1 ounce (third offense)

•    Penalty: 1 year incarceration

•    Fines: $2,000

•    Classification: gross misdemeanor

4.    Amount: Less than 1 ounce (fourth offense)

•    Penalty: 1 – 4 years’ incarceration

•    Fines: $5,000

•    Classification: Class E Felony

Cultivation and/or Intent to Distribute Marijuana

Supplementary Charges include Possession, Sale, and Sale to a minor with regard to Drug Paraphernalia; Marijuana charges may be subject to increase to the proximity to a school zone – sale to a minor may also incur additional fines and incarceration

5.    Amount: Less than 100 pounds (first offense)

•    Penalty:1 – 6 years’ incarceration

•    Fines: $20,000

•    Classification: felony

6.    Amount: Less than 100 pounds (second offense)

•    Penalty: 2 – 10 years’ incarceration

•    Fines: $20,000

•    Classification: felony

7.    Amount: Less than 100 pounds (subsequent offense)

•    Penalty: 3 – 15 years’ incarceration

•    Fines: $20,000

•    Classification: felony

8.    Amount: 100 to 2,000 pounds

•    Penalty: 5 years’ incarceration

•    Fines: $25,000

•    Classification: felony

9.    Amount: 2,000 to 10,000 pounds

•    Penalty: 2 – 20 years’ incarceration

•    Fines: $50,000

•    Classification: felony

10.    Amount: More than 10,000 pounds

•    Penalty: life imprisonment

•    Fines: $200,000

•    Classification: felony

11.    Amount: Sale to a minor (first offense)

•    Penalty: 1 – 20 years’ incarceration

•    Fines: varies

•    Classification: felony

12.    Amount: Sale to a minor (second offense)

•    Penalty: life imprisonment

•    Fines: varies

•    Classification: felony

13.    Amount: Sale within 1,000 feet of school zone

•    Penalty: penalties are doubled in conjunction with the initially-imposed charge(s)

•    Fines: fines are doubled in conjunction with the initially-imposed fine(s)

•    Classification: felony

Medical Marijuana

Within the state of Nevada, Medical Marijuana is considered to be legal upon prescription by an authorized, accredited medical professional; the appropriate amount allowed is 1 ounce per patient

Nevada DWI and DUI Laws

Driving while intoxicated (DWI) and driving while under the influence (DUI) charges exist in the event that an individual ingests illegal drugs, alcohol, or controlled-substances, which may impair their respective ability to safely operate a motor vehicle; the following DUI and DWI laws exist within the state of Nevada:

•    Zero tolerance laws exist in the event that an individual below the legal age permissible to consume alcohol is suspected to be unlawfully operating a motor vehicle; within the state of Nevada, the Zero Tolerance Blood Alcohol Content Level (BAC) cannot exceed .02%

•    The BAC limit for individuals operating motor vehicles may not reach .08%; this can constitute a DUI or DWI offense

•    In Nevada, supplementary penalties may be incurred due to BAC levels exceeding .18%

•    Implied consent is a legal instrument that is employed within the realm of a DUI Arrest that entails a verbal or written contract resulting from the willing participation in a regulated activity, such as the operation of a motor vehicle; within Nevada, law enforcement agents are permitted to act in accordance with implied consent laws

•    Upon a DUI or DWI conviction, and individuals is subject to undergo the loss of driving privileges for a period of no less than 90 days’ time; penalties can range upwards of 3 years

•    Upon a second DUI or DWI conviction, an individual is subject to undergo the installation of an ignition interlock device

Nevada Gun Laws

A handgun is a firearm whose smaller size is fashioned to be used upon operation by one hand, which typically fire single round ammunition; within the state of Nevada, gun laws are as follows:

•    The sale, ownership, or possession of firearms with regard to convicted felons, minors under 14 without parental consent, illegal aliens, fugitives, individuals addicted to drugs or alcohol, or individuals who have been in long-term care in a mental health facility is illegal in the state of Nevada; individuals carrying illegal weapons on their person during the time of a crime, aggravated assault can be attributed to any coinciding criminal convictions imposed

•    A waiting period for the purchase of a firearm does not currently exist in the state of Nevada; in the event that there exist a concealed firearm application, a 120-day waiting period exists

•    Current listing or report of forearms considered to be illegal in the state of Nevada: Metal piercing bullets, sawed-off rifles or shotguns, machine guns, silenced firearms, firearms with unlawfully-altered serial number(s)

Nevada Adoption Laws

In the state of Nevada, an individual who has been deemed as a law-abiding citizen at least 10 years – or older– than the individual for adoption; individuals must be of sound mind and moral character are permitted to adopt a child – individuals whom are wed must agree to an adoption in a joint fashion:

•    Any individual may be adopted; children above the age(s) of 14 must express consent with regard to a potential adoption

•    Within the state of Nevada, and individual must maintain residence for a period of no less than 6 months

•    Within the state of Nevada, the Department of Human Resources mandates all adoptions

Nevada Employment and Labor Laws

•    Within the state of Nevada, the minimum wage is $6.55 awarded per hour of labor; this does not include hours worked exceeding a 40-hour workweek

•    Within the state of Nevada, an individual’s employ cannot be terminated in the event that they report a violation or hazard taking place with regard to their respective employment – or place of employment

Nevada Divorce Laws

Within the state of Nevada, a divorce is defined as the termination of a marriage, which can occur upon a decision set forth by one or both partners involved in the marriage:

•    A divorce must be filed by an individual resident of Nevada

•    ‘No Fault’ divorce does exist on the grounds of incompatibility; a separation must take place for 1 years

•    Additional grounds for divorce can include legal separation and insanity

Nevada Death Penalty Laws

Within the state of Nevada, Capital Punishment – or the Death Penalty – is legal; however, additional stipulations exist with regard to this procedure:

•    In the event of mental instability or pregnant, capital punishment is disallowed

•    The minimum age permissible for a capital punishment sentence is 16 years of age

•    Within the state of Nevada, homicide is considered to be the only crimes punishable by death

•    The accepted means of capital punishment is the administration of lethal injection

Nevada Gambling Laws

Within the state of Nevada, Gambling is defined as the purposeful risking of any or all assets, property or monies with the intention of gain; a primary stipulation exists that expressed that the individual retains no control of peripheral outcome(s) with regard to any wagers set forth:

•    Licensed Horse racing wagering is legal

•    Licensed Dog racing wagering is legal

•    Licensed Casino Gambling is permissible; any and all unsanctioned structures and facilities intended to house gambling activity are deemed as illegal in the state of Nevada

Nevada Child Laws

Within the state of Nevada, the following stipulations with regard to child laws and child custody are recognized:

•    Joint custody is permitted

•    The rights implied within grandparental visitation are recognized

•    The wishes of any or all children involves are taken into consideration with regard to a custody decision

The State Laws of Maine

The State Laws of Maine

Maine Abortion Laws

• Statutory Definition of Illegal Abortion in Maine: Abortion is deemed illegal if it is ruled that the procedure was an intentional interruption of a pregnancy through the use of external agents.

• Maine's Definition of Legal Abortion: Abortion is deemed legal if the operation is performed before a medical professional rules the fetus to be viable; abortion is deemed legal after viability, only when the medical professional rules the procedure necessary to preserve the life or health of the carrying woman.

• Penalties for Unlawful Abortion: Class D Crime: the medical professional is ruled liable if he/she fails to perform required actions. Penalties for these actions include fines up to $1000. Medical professional will also be ruled liable if it can be determined that the individual did not take reasonable steps to preserve the life of the child: the medical professional in this situation may be subject to homicide, manslaughter and/or malpractice liability.

Maine Marijuana Laws

•    Possession: Over 1 lb. creates presumption of trafficking: Class E crime

•    Sale: Over 1.25 oz. creates presumption of furnishing: Class D crime

•    Trafficking: Class D crime; Possession of over 1 lb. or over 100 plants: Class C crime; Over 20 lbs. or over 500 plants: Class B crime

Maine DWI and DUI Laws

•    Maine imposes Zero tolerance laws when an individual below the legal age  is suspected to be unlawfully operating a vehicle; within Maine, the Zero Tolerance Blood Alcohol Content Level (BAC) cannot exceed .02%

•    The BAC limit for individuals of the legal age may not reach .08%

•  After receiving a DUI or DWI conviction, the charged individual is subject to losing his/her driving privileges for a minimum of 90 days; additional penalties may be palced on the individual, including severe fines, jail time or mandatory participation in alcohol education courses

Maine Gun Laws

•    Maine is “a shall” issue state for the right to conceal and carry. 

•    The issuing authority is the local police department or local government agency

•    Permits to carry a concealed firearm is issued within 30 days to applications who have resided in the state for a minimum of five years. These permits must be renewed after 4 years time.

•    Illegal arms in Maine: Machine guns and armor piercing ammunition

•    The following may not own a firearm in the state of Maine: Those individuals convicted of a crime that is punishable by imprisonment for one year or more.

Maine Adoption Laws

In Maine, individuals deemed as law-abiding citizens who are of sound mind and moral characters are permitted to adopt children:

•   An individual must maintain residence in the state for a period of no less than 6 months

•   Children above the age(s) of 14 must express consent with regard to a potential adoption

•    Within the state of Maine, the Department of Family Services mandates all adoptions

Maine Employment and Labor Laws

•    The minimum wage is 7 dollars and 15 cents

Maine Death Penalty Laws 

•    Maine does not practice capital punishment

Maine Gambling Laws:

•    Horse racing wagering is legal

•    Dog racing wagering is prohibited

•    Gaming is only permitted on Passamaquoddy tribal lands

Contact Maine lawyers for legal advice and assistance.

The State Laws of Maryland

The State Laws of Maryland

Maryland Abortion Laws

•    Statutory Definition of Illegal Abortion in Maryland: The procedure is not allowed when a medical professional decides that there is a reasonable likelihood that the fetus' maintains survival outside the womb.

•   Statutory Definition of Legal Abortion in Maryland: Abortion is allowed in the state when the operation is performed before the fetus is viable or where termination is necessary to protect the life of the carrying woman. Moreover, abortion will be permitted in Maryland when the health of the carrying woman or fetus is affected by genetic defects. All abortions in the state of Maryland must be performed with the least intrusive means possible.

Maryland Marijuana Laws

•    Possession: 1 yr. and/or $1,000; Bringing 100 or more lbs. into state is felony with penalty of up to 25 yrs. and/or fine up to $50,000; Subsequent offense: double penalties

•    Sale: Felony with penalty of 5 yrs. and/or fine of $15,000; 50 lbs. or more: felony with not less than 40 yrs.; Subsequent offense: double penalties, mandatory 2 yrs.

•    Trafficking: If the individual is charged as a “drug lord” the punishment will be 20-40 years in prison and/or a $1,000,000 fine

Maryland DWI and DUI Laws

•  Maryland imposes zero tolerance for drivers under found operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol. Maryland Zero Tolerance law is set at a BAC of .02%

•    The BAC  for individuals operating motor vehicles may not reach .08%

•    Individuals convicted of DUI or DWI charges are subject losing their  driving privileges for a period of no less than 90 days’ ;  penalties will range upwards of 1 year in addition to supplemental penalties including fines, interlock devices, jail time etc.

Maryland Gun Laws

•    Maryland has some of the strictest laws towards the possession, ownership, and right to conceal firearms in the country

•    Maryland states that short-barreled rifles, shotguns or any gun that contains more than 20 bullets is illegal

•    There is a universal waiting period of 7 days for the acquisition of all guns

•    The following individuals may now own a firearm in Maryland: 1. Fugitive from justice; 2. Convicted felon; convicted of crime of violence; 3. Habitual drunkard; 4. Addict/habitual user of narcotics/amphetamines/barbiturates; 5. If spent more than 30 consecutive days in mental institution for treatment; 6. Under 21 yrs.

Maryland Adoption Laws

•    Any person may be adopted in Maryland

•    Consent is required for children older than 10 years of age

•    Who may adopt in Maryland: Any adult may adopt in Maryland. The state's courts cannot deny petition for adoption based on the prospective parent's marital status. Married applicants must file jointly unless legally separated

Maryland Employment and Labor Laws

•    Within the state of Maryland, the minimum wage is 7 dollars and 15 cents awarded per hour of labor

Maryland Death Penalty Laws 

•    Maryland authorizes capital punishment

•    The minimum age is 18

•    Only those convicted of a homicide may be put to death

•    Lethal injection is the method of execution in Maryland

Maryland Gambling Laws

•    Wagering on horses is legal; off-track betting is legal

•    Slot machines are legal in certain counties. Occupying any building or vessel for the purpose of gambling is illegal

Maryland Child Laws

Within the state of Maryland, the following stipulations with regard to child laws and child custody are recognized:

•    Joint custody is permitted

The State Laws of Massachusetts

The State Laws of Massachusetts

Massachusetts Abortion Laws

• Statutory Definition of Illegal Abortion in Massachusetts: Illegal abortion refers to the knowing destruction of an unborn child or intentional expulsion or removal of the unborn child from the womb.

•  Statutory Definition of Legal Abortion in Massachusetts: For pregnancies under 24 weeks: Abortion may be performed in the state only by a medical professional and only if the medical professional believes it is in the party's best interest under the circumstances. For pregnancies beyond 24 weeks: A medical professional must provide written statement that the abortion is:

1) necessary to save life of mother;

2) continuation of pregnancy will impose substantial risk of serious physical or mental injury. In the state, no procedure can be performed which destroys or injures the fetus unless the medical professional believes that available procedures would pose a greater risk to the mother. All reasonable steps must be taken to preserve life and health of both the fetus and the carrying mother.

•    Penalty for Illegal Abortion: Violation of standards of performing legal abortion: fine of $500 to $2,000 and/or imprisonment 3 months to 5 years; violation of written consent and physician filing requirements: $100-2000 fine

Massachusetts Marijuana Laws

•    Possession: 6 months and/or $500; Subsequent offense: 2 yrs. and/or $2000; Over 50 lbs. is trafficking

•    Sale: 1-2 yrs. and/or $500 to $5000; Subsequent offense: 1-2.5 yrs. and/or $1000 to $10,000

•    Trafficking: 50-100 lbs.: 2.5-15 yrs. and $500 to $10,000; 100-2000 lbs.: 3-15 yrs. and $2500 to $25,000; 2000-10,000 lbs.: 5-15 yrs. and $5000 to $50,000; Over 10,000 lbs.: 10-15 yrs. and $20,000 to $200,000

Massachusetts DWI and DUI Laws

•  Massachusetts imposes zero tolerance laws in the event that a driver below the legal age is suspected to be unlawfully operating a motor vehicle; the state's Zero Tolerance Blood Alcohol Content Level (BAC) is set at .02%

•    The standard BAC in the state is .08%

•    Penalties for a DUI/DWI in Mass: 1 year license suspension for first offense, 2 years for 3rd offense, and 8 years for 3rd offense. With multiple offenses, mandatory alcohol education and treatment assessment is required. Moreover, vehicle confiscation may be initiated and an ignition interlock device may be placed on the driver's vehicle.

•   When a driver receives a DUI/DWI conviction, the individual is subject to the loss of driving privileges for no less than 90 days’; penalties range upwards of 1 year

Massachusetts Gun Laws

•    Illegal firearms in Massachusetts include: Machine guns or sawed-off shotgun and any firearm with an altered ID or serial number; silencers are also illegal in Massachusetts

•   The following individuals may not own a firearm in the state: 1. Illegal aliens; 2. Convicted felons; 3. Those who possess a history of severe alcohol or drug abuse; 4. Any individual under the age of 18 yrs. (individual between the ages of 15-18 may own a firearm only with parents' permission); 5. Any person who has previously been confined in a mental institution for mental illness

•    Massachusetts law requires all firearm owners to be licensed through their local police department. All applications, fees, interviews and fingerprinting procedures are processed at the local police department.

•    The state has some of the most stringent laws in regards to ownership and use; Massachusetts institutes five different licenses for gun owners.

Massachusetts Adoption Laws

•    Any person younger than the adopted may be adopted

•   Consent is required for children older than 12

•    The following individuals may adopt in the state of Massachusetts: Adults, may, subject to certain exceptions, petition for adoption any person younger than themselves; petitioner may not adopt their brother, sister, spouse, aunt, uncle of whole or half-blood

Massachusetts Employment and Labor Laws

•    Within the state of Massachusetts, the minimum wage is 7 dollars and 15 cents awarded per hour of labor

Massachusetts Death Penalty Laws 

•    Massachusetts does not practice capital punishment

Massachusetts Gambling Laws

•    Horse racing wagering is legal

•    Dog racing wagering is legal

•  All unsanctioned structures intended to house gambling activity is regarded as illegal in the state of Massachusetts

The State Laws of Michigan

The State Laws of Michigan

Disclaimer:

Due to the fact that individual state laws are constantly subject to change, individuals are encouraged to consult an attorney prior to engaging in any activity, action, or event in which the expressed legality may come into question. Furthermore, individuals interested in attaining information with regard to individual state legislature are also encouraged to perform independent research in order to substantiate the relevancy and current state(s) of specific legislation.  If you need legal advice and assistance, contact Michigan lawyers.

Michigan Abortion Laws

•    Statutory Definition of Illegal Abortion in Michigan: Drug, substance, instrument, or device employed with intent to terminate pregnancy for a purpose other than to increase probability of a live birth, to preserve the health of the child, or to remove a dead fetus. Partial Birth Abortion: Unlawful except to save the life of a mother endangered by physical illness, physical injury, or physical disorder when no other medical procedure will suffice

•    Statutory Definition of Legal Abortion: After viability, when necessary to preserve life of mother

•    Penalty for Illegal Abortion: Felony: fine to $2,000 and/or imprisonment to 4 years; if mother dies, manslaughter, fine to $7,500 and/or imprisonment to 15 years; violation of parental consent requirement is a misdemeanor.

Michigan Marijuana Laws

•    Possession: Misdemeanor with penalty of 1 yr. and/or $2000

•    Sale: Felony: less than 5 kg. or 20 plants: up to 4 yrs. and/or $20,000; 5-45 kg. or 20-200 plants: up to 7 yrs. and/or $500,000; Over 45 kg. or over 200 plants: up to 15 yrs. and/or $10,000,000; Sale to minor or near school property: up to double penalties

Michigan DWI and DUI Laws

Driving while intoxicated (DWI) and driving while under the influence (DUI) charges exist in the event that an individual ingests illegal drugs, alcohol, or controlled-substances, which may impair their respective ability to safely operate a motor vehicle; the following DUI and DWI laws exist within the state of Michigan:

•    Zero tolerance laws exist in the event that an individual below the legal age permissible to consume alcohol is suspected to be unlawfully operating a motor vehicle; within the state of Michigan, the Zero Tolerance Blood Alcohol Content Level (BAC) cannot exceed .02%

•    The BAC limit for individuals operating motor vehicles may not reach .08%; this can constitute a DUI or DWI offense

•    In Michigan, there currently exist no supplementary penalties incurred due to BAC levels exceeding the expressed, legal limit

•    Implied consent is a legal instrument that is employed within the realm of a DUI Arrest that entails a verbal or written contract resulting from the willing participation in a regulated activity, such as the operation of a motor vehicle; within Michigan, law enforcement agents are permitted to act in accordance with implied consent laws

•    Upon a DUI or DWI conviction, and individuals is subject to undergo the loss of driving privileges for a period of no less than 90 days’ time;  penalties can range upwards of 1 year in addition to the installation of an ignition interlock device

Michigan Gun Laws

•    There is no waiting period for the acquisition of firearms in Michigan

•    Illegal firearms in Michigan: Machine gun; automatic or semi-automatic weapons; silencers; mufflers; armor-piercing ammunition

•    Who may not own firearms in Michigan: 1. Under 18 yrs.; 2. Committed felony; 3. Insane and not restored to sanity by court order or under order for commitment due to mental illness; 4. Must answer 70% of answers correctly on Basic Pistol Safety Questionnaire in order to purchase gun

Michigan Adoption Laws

In the state of Michigan, an individual who has been deemed as a law-abiding citizen who is of sound mind and moral character is permitted to adopt a child:

•    Within the state of Michigan, and individual must maintain residence for a period of no less than 6 months

•    Any individual may be adopted; children above the age(s) of 14 must express consent with regard to a potential adoption

•    Within the state of Michigan, the Family Independence Agency administers all adoption

•    Any person may adopt; if married, the spouse may join

Michigan Employment and Labor Laws

•    Within the state of Michigan, the minimum wage is 7 dollars and 15 cents awarded per hour of labor

•    State Holidays are listed as: New Year’s Day, Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Thanksgiving, and Christmas – Veteran’s Day, Martin Luther King, Jr.’s Birthday, and President’s Day result in the closing of public institutions only upon the decision set forth by the local board of trustees and government

•    Within the state of Michigan, an individual’s employ cannot be terminated in the event that they report a violation or hazard taking place with regard to their respective employment – or place of employment

Michigan Divorce Laws

Within the state of Michigan, a divorce is defined as the termination of a marriage, which can occur upon a decision set forth by one or both partners involved in the marriage:

•    A divorce must be filed subsequent to 60 days residence within the state of Michigan; in the event that an individual –or individuals – were married in Michigan and lived there on a continuous basis, a time constraint for filing does not exist

•    ‘No Fault’ divorce does exist on the grounds of irreconcilable differences

Michigan Death Penalty Laws 

•    Michigan does not practice capital punishment.

Michigan Gambling Laws

Within the state of Michigan, Gambling is defined as the purposeful risking of any or all assets, property or monies with the intention of gain; a primary stipulation exists that expressed that the individual retains no control of peripheral outcome(s) with regard to any wagers set forth:

•    Horse racing wagering is legal

•    Dog racing wagering is legal

•    Licensed casinos are allowed and gaming on Native American land governed by the Indian Gaming Regulatory Act is permitted

Michigan Child Laws

Within the state of Michigan, the following stipulations with regard to child laws and child custody are recognized:

•    Joint custody is permitted

•    The rights implied within  grandparental visitation are recognized

•    The wishes of any or all children involves are taken into consideration with regard to a custody decision

 

The State Laws of Arizona

The State Laws of Arizona

Arizona Abortion Laws
•   Abortions will be deemed as legal when the procedure is ruled necessary to preserve the life or health of the carrying mother. Abortions can only take place after sanctioned medical review – only licensed medical professionals are permitted review and perform cases of abortion within the state of Arizona
•   Illegal abortions occur when the health and wellbeing of the mother is not endangered; moreover, illegal abortions are defined as procedures that drift away from the legal and authorized medical protocol. In Arizona, public funds may be used for abortions in sexual assault and incest cases.
•    Arizona abortion laws are codified in section 13-3603; 36-2152 of the state’s constitution.
•    Illegal abortion in Arizona refers to any termination of a fetus by drug or instrument with intent to procure a miscarriage. Partial birth abortions are considered felonies unless the operations were administered to save the life of the mother.
•   Legal abortion in Arizona refers to any termination that is necessary to preserve the life of the mother.
•    The penalty for an unlawful abortion in Arizona is imprisonment from 2 to 5 years.
•    Written consent of one parent of legal guardian if unmarried is required by court order.
Arizona Marijuana Laws
•    Arizona marijuana laws are found in Code Section 13-3401, 3405; 36-2501, et seq.
•    Possession of marijuana under 2 lb.: Class 6 felony, 2-4 lbs.: Class 5 felony; 4 lbs. and over: Class 4 felony, fine of no less than $750 or 3 times the value of the controlled substance—whichever is greater.
•    Sale of marijuana under 2 lbs.: Class 4 felony; 2-4 lbs.” Class 3 felony; over 4 lbs.: Class 2 felony: fine of the greater of $750 or 3 times value of substance; Sale within drug-free school zone: add 1 year to sentence and fine of $2000
•    Trafficking of marijuana: less than 2 lbs.: Class 5 felony; 2-4 lbs.: Class 4 felony; Over 4 lbs.: Class 3 felony; Transporting/importing: less than 2 lbs.: Class 3 felony; Over 2 lbs.: Class 2 felonies.

Arizona Gun Laws
•    Arizona law does not require a state permit to purchase, firearm registration, nor a license of ownership for long or handguns. 
•    Carry permits are required for both forms of guns. 
Arizona Adoption Laws
In Arizona, any law-abiding citizen deemed as possessing a sound mind and  strong moral character is permitted to adopt a child:
•    Within the state of Arizona, and individual must maintain residence for a period of no less than 6 months
•    In Arizona, any person may be adopted; children over the age of 14 must express consent 
•    Within the state of Arizona, the Department of Family Services mandates all adoptions
Arizona Employment and Labor Laws
•  The minimum wage, in Arizona, is currently set at 5 dollars and 15 cents awarded per hour of labor
Arizona Divorce Laws
•    A divorce must be filed subsequent to 60 days residence within the state of Arizona; in the event that an individual –or individuals – were married in Arizona and lived there on a continuous basis, a time constraint for filing does not exist
•    ‘No Fault’ divorce does exist on the grounds of irreconcilable differences
Arizona Death Penalty Laws 
Capital Punishment, in Arizona, is legal; however, regulations exist concerning the implementation of the procedure:

•    Capital punishment may be authorized for 1st degree murders with mitigating factors.
•    The minimum age to issue the death penalty is 15.
•    The method of execution is lethal injection. Previous capital convictions or homicides, or previous convictions of a serious offense may warrant capital punishment in Arizona.
Arizona Gambling Laws
•    Horse racing, in Arizona, is deemed legal 
•    Dog racing is not allowed on same day as daytime horse races in the same county
•    Casinos run for profit are banned.

The State Laws of Arkansas

The State Laws of Arkansas

Arkansas Abortion Laws:

•    A legal abortion occurs in Arkansas when the protection and preservation of the life of the mother carrying a fetus. An abortion will be regarded as legal if it is needed to save the life of the mother. The procedure, in this situation, may only be performed, after accredited and sanctioned medical review – only licensed medical professionals are permitted to review and perform abortions within Arkansas

•    An abortion is classified as illegal when the procedure is undertaken when the well-being of the mother is not at risk. Moreover, an illegal abortion takes place when a fetus is terminated without care or acceptance for traditional medical procedural protocol. Public funds may be used to pay for an abortion only in the case(s) of incest and/or sexual assault.

•    The penalty for an unlawful abortion in Arkansas is a fine to $1,000 and imprisonment from 1 to 5 years.

Arkansas Marijuana Laws

Within the state of Arkansas, possession of Marijuana along with growing or distributing marijuana is regarded as a punishable, criminal offense. The following punishments are associated with Marijuana use/distribution in the state:

•    Marijuana law in Arkansas is found in Code Section 5-64-101, et seq

•    Possession: 1st offense: Class A misdemeanor; 2nd offense: Class D Felony; 3rd offense: Class C felony

•    Sale: Delivery or intent to sell is a Class C felony, 4-30 years, depending on the amount sold, and/or fine of $25,000 to $100,000; increased penalty within 1000 feet of school zone.

•    Trafficking: 1 oz. possession of marijuana creates rebuttable presumption or intent to deliver.

Arkansas DWI and DUI Laws

•   Arkansas practices zero tolerance laws; this framework is applied to any driver below the legal drinking age of 21 who is found to be operating a motor vehicle while under the influence. The Arkansas Zero Tolerance Blood Alcohol Content Level (BAC) is currently set at .02%–any young driver with a BAc over this level will be found guilty of DWI/DUI

•    The BAC limit for individuals over the age of 21 is .08%

•   After being convicted of DUI/DWI, an individuals is subject to loss of driving privileges ;penalties will greatly increase with subsequent offenses

Arkansas Gun Laws

•    Arkansas gun laws are found in Code Section 5-73-103, 104

•    Illegal arms in Arkansas: Machine guns, sawed-off shotguns or rifles, any firearm specially mad or adapted for silent discharge, any firearm that has the serial mark removed or altered

•    There is no waiting period to purchase and subsequently receive a gun in Arkansas.

•    Who may not own guns in Arkansas: Convicted felons, adjudicated mentally ill individuals, committed involuntarily to any mental institution, and any incarcerated person.

Arkansas Employment and Labor Laws

•    Within the state of Arkansas, the minimum wage is 5 dollars and 15 cents awarded per hour of labor

Arkansas Divorce Laws

•    A divorce must be filed following proof that a spouse has resided in the state for at least 60 days; in the event that an individual –or individuals – were married in Arkansas and lived there on a continuous basis, a time constraint for filing does not exist

•    ‘No Fault’ divorce does exist on the grounds of irreconcilable differences

Arkansas Death Penalty Laws 

•    Capital punishment in Arkansas is authorized via a lethal injection or the electric chair.

•    Capital punishment may be administered for charges of homicide or treason.

Arkansas Gambling Laws

•    Gambling laws are labeled in Code Section 5-66-101 et seq.; 23-110

•    Horse Racing/Off-track (for pari-mutuel wagers only) is legal in Arkansas

•    Franchised greyhound racing is legal

•    Gambling houses and devices are banned in Arkansas.

The State Laws of Hawaii

The State Laws of Hawaii

Disclaimer:

Due to the fact that individual state laws are constantly subject to change, individuals are encouraged to consult an attorney prior to engaging in any activity, action, or event in which the expressed legality may come into question. Furthermore, individuals interested in attaining information with regard to individual state legislature are also encouraged to perform independent research in order to substantiate the relevancy and current state(s) of specific legislation. Also contact Hawaii lawyers for legal advice and assistance.

Hawaii Abortion Laws

Within the state of Hawaii, Abortion is defined as the purposeful termination of a pregnancy through procedural means. Subsequent to the decision of Roe v. Wade, abortion became legal within the United States – however, Hawaii state legislation expresses a variety of stipulations with regard to a legal abortion process:

•    A legal abortion may occur in the event that the protection and preservation of the life of the mother carrying a fetus is compromised as a result of a pregnancy; an abortion can take place in order to save the life of the mother only upon accredited and sanctioned medical review – only a licensed medical doctor will be permitted to both review and perform cases of abortion within the state of Hawaii

•    An illegal abortion is deemed as an abortion process that occurs in the event that the health and wellbeing of the mother is not in danger; furthermore, an illegal abortion is defined as a procedure that occurs outside of legal, accepted, and authorized medical procedural protocol – in the state of Hawaii, public funds may be used for abortions only in the case(s) of sexual assault and incest

•    Statutory Definition of illegal abortion in Hawaii: Failure to meet standard for legal abortion

•    Statutory Definition of legal abortion: terminate pregnancy of nonviable fetus

•    Penalty for Unlawful Abortion: Fine to $1,000 and/or imprisonment to 5 years

Hawaii Marijuana Laws

•    Possession: Possession of 25 or more marijuana plants or possession of 1 lb. or more of anything containing cannabis: Class C felony; 2 lbs. or more: Class B felony; 25 lbs. or more: Class A felony; Possession of over 100 plants: Class A felony; Distribution of an small amount or possession of any small amount: misdemeanor

•    Sale: Sale of any amount: Class C felony; 1 lb. or more: Class B felony; 5 lbs. or more: Class A felony 

Hawaii DWI and DUI Laws

Driving while intoxicated (DWI) and driving while under the influence (DUI) charges exist in the event that an individual ingests illegal drugs, alcohol, or controlled-substances, which may impair their respective ability to safely operate a motor vehicle; the following DUI and DWI laws exist within the state of Hawaii:

•    Zero tolerance laws exist in the event that an individual below the legal age permissible to consume alcohol is suspected to be unlawfully operating a motor vehicle; within the state of Hawaii, the Zero Tolerance Blood Alcohol Content Level (BAC) cannot exceed .02%

•    The BAC limit for individuals operating motor vehicles may not reach .08%; this can constitute a DUI or DWI offense

•    In Hawaii, there currently exist no supplementary penalties incurred due to BAC levels exceeding the expressed, legal limit

•    Implied consent is a legal instrument that is employed within the realm of a DUI Arrest that entails a verbal or written contract resulting from the willing participation in a regulated activity, such as the operation of a motor vehicle; within Hawaii, law enforcement agents are permitted to act in accordance with implied consent laws

•    Upon a DUI or DWI conviction, and individuals is subject to undergo the loss of driving privileges for a period of no less than 90 days’ time;  penalties can range upwards of 1 year in addition to the installation of an ignition interlock device

Hawaii Gun Laws

•    Hawaii is a “may issue” state for concealed carry of firearms.

•    Acquiring firearm requires a permit, issued to qualified applicants by the county police chief

•    There is a 14 day waiting period for receiving a permit, which is then valid for 6 days. A separate permit is required for each handgun to be acquired. Long gun permits can be used for any number of shotguns or rifles for a period of one year.

•    Applicants must pass criminal background checks and provide an affidavit of mental health. Applicants must agree to release their medical records before obtaining permit

•    First time applicants must be fingerprinted by the FBI. When applying to acquire a handgun, a safety training course affidavit or hunter’s education card is required.

•    Firearms acquired within the state must be registered with the chief of police within 5 days. Firearms from out of state must be registered within 3 days of arrival. 

•    Carrying a loaded firearm, concealed or not concealed, is a class A felony. 

•    Unloaded firearms that are secured in a gun case and are accompanied by a permit are allowed to be transported in a vehicle between the permitted owner’s residence or business and a place of repair; a target range; a license dealer’s place of business; a place of formal hunter or firearm training or instruction; a police station; a scheduled firearms show or exhibit.

Hawaii Adoption Laws

•    Any person in Hawaii may be adopted

•    Age that Child’s consent is needed: 10 years and older; if married adult, consent of spouse also

•    Who may adopt: Any proper adult person, not married, or married to legal parent of minor, or husband and wife jointly

•    Human Services and Family agency of Hawaii responsible for administering adoption cases.

Hawaii Employment and Labor Laws

•    Within the state of Hawaii, the minimum wage is 5 dollars and 15 cents awarded per hour of labor

•    State Holidays are listed as: New Year's Day, Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Thanksgiving, and Christmas – Veteran’s Day, Wyoming Equality Day, Martin Luther King, Jr.'s Birthday, and President’s Day result in the closing of public institutions only upon the decision set forth by the local board of trustees and government

•    Within the state of Hawaii, an individual’s employ cannot be terminated in the event that they report a violation or hazard taking place with regard to their respective employment – or place of employment

Hawaii Divorce Laws

Within the state of Hawaii, a divorce is defined as the termination of a marriage, which can occur upon a decision set forth by one or both partners involved in the marriage:

•    A divorce must be filed subsequent to 60 days residence within the state of Hawaii; in the event that an individual –or individuals – were married in Hawaii and lived there on a continuous basis, a time constraint for filing does not exist

•    ‘No Fault’ divorce does exist on the grounds of irreconcilable differences

Hawaii Death Penalty Laws 

•    Capital Punishment is not allowed in Hawaii

Hawaii Gambling Laws

•    Gambling aboard ships is illegal in Hawaii. 

•    Possession of gambling devices, such as slot machines, is illegal

Hawaii Child Laws

Within the state of Hawaii, the following stipulations with regard to child laws and child custody are recognized:

•    Joint custody is permitted

•    The rights implied within grandparental visitation are recognized

•    The wishes of any or all children involves are taken into consideration with regard to a custody decision

 

 

The State Laws of Utah

The State Laws of Utah

Disclaimer:

Due to the fact that individual state laws are constantly subject to change, individuals are encouraged to consult an attorney prior to engaging in any activity, action, or event in which the expressed legality may come into question. Furthermore, individuals interested in attaining information with regard to individual state legislature are also encouraged to perform independent research in order to substantiate the relevancy and current state(s) of specific legislation. If you need legal advice and assistance, contact Utah lawyers.

Utah Abortion Laws

Within the state of Utah, Abortion is defined as the purposeful termination of a pregnancy through procedural means. Subsequent to the decision of Roe v. Wade, abortion became legal within the United States – however, Utah state legislation expresses a variety of stipulations with regard to a legal abortion process:

•    A legal abortion may occur in the event that the protection and preservation of the life of the mother carrying a fetus is compromised as a result of a pregnancy; an abortion can take place in order to save the life of the mother only upon accredited and sanctioned medical review – only a licensed medical doctor will be permitted to both review and perform cases of abortion within the state of Utah

•    A legal abortion may take place in order to avoid serious birth defect and trauma sustained by either mother or child; in the state of Utah, abortions may only take prior to the 20-week mark of pregnancy in the case(s) of sexual assault and incest

•    An illegal abortion is deemed as an abortion process that occurs in the event that the health and wellbeing of the mother is not in danger; furthermore, an illegal abortion is defined as a procedure that occurs outside of legal, accepted, and authorized medical procedural protocol– conducting unlawful abortions may result in the revocation of medical licenses

Utah Common Law Marriage

Common Law Marriage is currently legal in the state of Utah

Utah Marijuana Laws

Within the state of Utah, the possession of Marijuana – or Cannabis products – as well as the acts of growing or distributing marijuana without the expressed permission of the Utah State Government is a punishable, criminal offense. Any Marijuana conviction taking place in the state of Utah results in a mandatory minimum loss of license for 6 months. The following penalties are associated with Marijuana within the state of Utah:

Possession/Under the Influence of Marijuana

1.    Amount: less than 1 ounce

•    Penalty: 6 months’ incarceration

•    Fines: $1,000

•    Classification: Misdemeanor

2.    Amount: 1 ounce – 1 pound

•    Penalty: 1 year incarceration

•    Fines: $2,500

•    Classification: Misdemeanor

3.    Amount: 1 pound – 100 pounds

•    Penalty: 5 years’ incarceration

•    Fines: $5,000

•    Classification: Felony

4.    Amount: 100 pound +

•    Penalty: 1 – 15 years’ incarceration

•    Fines: $10,000

•    Classification: Felony

Cultivation/Sale of Marijuana

Supplementary Charges include Possession, Sale, and Sale to a minor with regard to Drug Paraphernalia; Marijuana charges may be subject to increase to the proximity to a school zone or Public Park – the sale of Marijuana to a minor may also incur additional fines and incarceration

5.    Amount: Any

•    Penalty: 5 years’ incarceration

•    Fines: $5,000

•    Classification: Felony

Medical Marijuana

Within the state of Utah, Medical Marijuana is considered to be illegal both for patient use and cultivation

Utah DWI and DUI Laws

Driving while intoxicated (DWI) and driving while under the influence (DUI) charges exist in the event that an individual ingests illegal drugs, alcohol, or controlled-substances, which may impair their respective ability to safely operate a motor vehicle; the following DUI and DWI laws exist within the state of Utah:

•    Zero tolerance laws exist in the event that an individual below the legal age permissible to consume alcohol is suspected to be unlawfully operating a motor vehicle; within the state of Utah, the Zero Tolerance Blood Alcohol Content Level (BAC) cannot exceed .00%

•    The BAC limit for individuals operating motor vehicles may not reach .08%; this can constitute a DUI or DWI offense

•    In Utah, supplementary penalties may be incurred due to BAC levels exceeding .16%

•    Implied consent is a legal instrument that is employed within the realm of a DUI Arrest that entails a verbal or written contract resulting from the willing participation in a regulated activity, such as the operation of a motor vehicle; within Utah, law enforcement agents are permitted to act in accordance with implied consent laws

•    Upon a DUI or DWI conviction, and individuals is subject to undergo the loss of driving privileges for a period of no less than 90 days’ time;  penalties can range upwards of 1 year in addition to the installation of an ignition interlock device and mandatory substance abuse counseling

Utah Gun Laws

A handgun is a firearm whose smaller size is fashioned to be used upon operation by one hand, which typically fire single round ammunition; within the state of Utah, handgun laws are as follows:

•    The sale, ownership, or possession of handguns with regard to convicted felons, individuals addicted to narcotics, minors, individuals receiving a dishonorable discharge from the Armed Forces, and individuals who have been in long-term care in a mental health facility is illegal in the state of Utah;  individuals carrying illegal weapons on their person during the time of a crime, aggravated assault can be attributed to any coinciding criminal convictions imposed

•    A waiting period for the purchase of a firearm does not currently exist in the state of Utah

•    Current listing or report of forearms considered to be illegal in the state of Utah: purposefully-altered firearm

•    Legal resident aliens are only permitted to own handguns

Utah Adoption Laws

In the state of Utah, an individual who has been deemed as a law-abiding citizen who is of sound mind and moral character is permitted to adopt a child; unmarried individuals sharing a residence cannot adopt:

•    Within the state of Utah, and individual must maintain residence for a period of no less than 6 months; a minimum of residence for 1 year is applicable for step-parents

•    Any individual may be adopted; children above the age(s) of 12 must express consent with regard to a potential adoption

•    Within the state of Utah, the Department of Child and Family Services mandates all adoptions

•    Once an adoption is finalized, it cannot be overturned

Utah Employment and Labor Laws

•    Within the state of Utah, the minimum wage is $6.55 – $7.25 awarded per hour of labor

•    Within the state of Utah, an individual’s employ cannot be terminated in the event that they report a violation or hazard taking place with regard to their respective employment – or place of employment

Utah Divorce Laws

Within the state of Utah, a divorce is defined as the termination of a marriage, which can occur upon a decision set forth by one or both partners involved in the marriage:

•    A divorce must be filed subsequent to 90days residence within the state of Utah

•    ‘No Fault’ divorce does exist on the grounds of irreconcilable differences; a separation must take place for no less than 3 years’ time

•    Additional grounds for divorce can include cruelty, adultery, impotence, addiction, and insanity

Utah Death Penalty Laws

Within the state of Utah, Capital Punishment – or the Death Penalty – is legal; however, additional stipulations exist with regard to this procedure:

•    In the event of mental instability authorized by a court or pregnancy, capital punishment is disallowed

•    There does not exist a minimum age permissible for a capital punishment sentence

•    Within the state of Utah, homicide is considered to be the only crime punishable by death

•    The accepted means of capital punishment is lethal injection or firing squad; the defendant retains the right to choose

Utah Gambling Laws

Within the state of Utah, Gambling is defined as the purposeful risking of any or all assets, property or monies with the intention of gain; a primary stipulation exists that expressed that the individual retains no control of peripheral outcome(s) with regard to any wagers set forth – gambling is illegal in the state of Utah

Utah Child Laws

Within the state of Utah, the following stipulations with regard to child laws and child custody are recognized:

•    Joint custody is permitted

•    The rights implied within  grandparental visitation are recognized

•    The wishes of any or all children involves are taken into consideration with regard to a custody decision

STATE LAWS