The State Laws of Missouri

The State Laws of Missouri

Share
The State Laws of Missouri

Disclaimer

 Due to the fact that individual state laws are constantly subject to change, individuals are encouraged to consult an attorney prior to engaging in any activity, action, or event in which the expressed legality may come into question. Furthermore, individuals interested in attaining information with regard to individual state legislature are also encouraged to perform independent research in order to substantiate the relevancy and current state(s) of specific legislation. 

Missouri Abortion Laws

Within the state of Missouri, Abortion is defined as the purposeful termination of a pregnancy through procedural means. Subsequent to the decision of Roe v. Wade, abortion became legal within the United States – however, Missouri state legislation expresses a variety of stipulations with regard to a legal abortion process:

•    A legal abortion may occur in the event that the protection and preservation of the life of the mother carrying a fetus is compromised as a result of a pregnancy; an abortion can take place in order to save the life of the mother only upon accredited and sanctioned medical review

•    Within the state of Missouri, the use of public funding for the financial substantiation of abortion is illegal except in the case where the abortion must take place in order to save the life of the mother in question

•    An illegal abortion is deemed as an abortion process that occurs in the event that the health and wellbeing of the mother is not in danger; furthermore, an illegal abortion is defined as a procedure that occurs outside of legal, accepted, and authorized medical procedural protocol – in the state of Missouri, unauthorized individuals conducting abortions may be charged with Class Felonies and/or license revocation

Missouri Marijuana Laws

Within the state of Missouri, the possession of Marijuana - or Cannabis products – as well as the acts of growing or distributing marijuana without the expressed permission of the Missouri State Government is a punishable, criminal offense. The following penalties are associated with Marijuana within the state of Missouri:

Possession/Under the Influence of Marijuana

1.    Amount: 35 grams or less

•    Penalty:1 years’ incarceration

•    Fines: $1,000

•    Classification: misdemeanor

2.    Amount: 35 grams to 30 kilograms

•    Penalty: 7 years’ incarceration

•    Fines:$5,000

•    Classification: felony

3.    Amount: 30 to 100 kilograms (this offense is considered to be ‘drug trafficking’)

•    Penalty: 5 - 15 years’ incarceration

•    Fines:$5,000 - $20,000

•    Classification: felony

4.    Amount: 100 kilograms or more (this offense is considered to be ‘drug trafficking’)

•    Penalty: 10 years’ to life incarceration

•    Fines:$5,000 - $20,000

•    Classification: felony

Cultivation and/or Intent to Distribute Marijuana

Supplementary Charges include Possession, Sale, and Sale to a minor with regard to Drug Paraphernalia; Marijuana charges may be subject to increase to the proximity to a school zone – sale to a minor may also incur additional fines and incarceration

5.    Amount: 5 grams or less

•    Penalty: 7 years’ incarceration

•    Fines: $5,000

•    Classification: felony

6.    Amount: 5 grams to 30 kilograms

•    Penalty: 5 – 15 years’ incarceration

•    Fines:$5,000 - $20,000

•    Classification: felony

7.    Amount: 30 to 100 kilograms

•    Penalty: 10 years’ to life incarceration

•    Fines:$5,000 - $20,000

•    Classification: felony

8.    Amount: 100 kilograms or more

•    Penalty: 10 years’ to life incarceration(withoutthe chance of parole)

•    Fines:$5,000 - $20,000

•    Classification: felony

9.    Amount: Any Sale within 2,000 feet of a school zone or within 1,000 feet of a public housing facility

•    Penalty: additional 5 – 15 years’ incarceration in concert with any or all 

original sentencing

•    Fines:$5,000 - $20,000

•    Classification: felony

10.    Amount: Any sale to a Minor

•    Penalty: additional 10 years’ to life incarceration in concert with any or all 

original sentencing

•    Fines:$5,000 - $20,000

•    Classification: felony

Medical Marijuana

Within the state of Missouri, Medical Marijuana is considered to be illegal both for patient use and cultivation

Missouri DWI and DUI Laws

Driving while intoxicated (DWI) and driving while under the influence (DUI) charges exist in the event that an individual ingests illegal drugs, alcohol, or controlled-substances, which may impair their respective ability to safely operate a motor vehicle; the following DUI and DWI laws exist within the state of Missouri:

•    Zero tolerance laws exist in the event that an individual below the legal age permissible to consume alcohol is suspected to be unlawfully operating a motor vehicle; within the state of Missouri, the Zero Tolerance Blood Alcohol Content Level (BAC) cannot exceed .02%

•    The BAC limit for individuals operating motor vehicles may not reach .08%; this can constitute a DUI or DWI offense

•    In Missouri, supplementary penalties may be incurred due to BAC levels exceeding .15%

•    Implied consent is a legal instrument that is employed within the realm of a DUI Arrest that entails a verbal or written contract resulting from the willing participation in a regulated activity, such as the operation of a motor vehicle; within Missouri, law enforcement agents are permitted to act in accordance with implied consent laws

•    Upon a DUI or DWI conviction, and individuals is subject to undergo the loss of driving privileges for a period of no less than 30 days’ time;  penalties can range upwards of 1 year in addition to the installation of an ignition interlock device

Missouri Gun Laws

A handgun is a firearm whose smaller size is fashioned to be used upon operation by one hand, which typically fire single round ammunition; within the state of Missouri, gun laws are as follows:

•    The sale, ownership, or possession of firearmswith regard to convicted felons, minors under the age(s) of 21, individuals dishonorably discharged from the Armed Forces, individuals in a state of intoxication, or individuals who have been in long-term care in a mental health facility is illegal in the state of Missouri;  individuals carrying illegal weapons on their person during the time of a crime, aggravated assault can be attributed to any coinciding criminal convictions imposed

•    A waiting period for the purchase of a firearm does not currently exist in the state of Missouri; in the event of a concealed firearm, a 7-day waiting period exists 

•    Current listing or report of forearms considered to be illegal in the state of Missouri: altered firearms, sawed-off shotguns or rifles, gas guns, explosive ammunitions, silenced firearms, explosive weaponry, and machine guns

Missouri Adoption Laws

In the state of Missouri, an individual who has been deemed as a law-abiding citizen 18 years or older who is of sound mind and moral character is permitted to adopt a child; individuals whom are wed must agree to an adoption in a joint fashion:

•    Any individual may be adopted; children above the age(s) of 14 must express consent with regard to a potential adoption

•    Within the state of Missouri, and individual must maintain residence for a period of no less than 6 months

•    Within the state of Missouri, the Department of Social Services mandates all adoptions

•    The statute of limitations available to challenge an adoption is 1 years’ time subsequent to the adoption

Missouri Employment and Labor Laws

•    Within the state of Missouri, the minimum wage is $7.05 awarded per hour of labor

•    Within the state of Missouri, an individual’s employ cannot be terminated in the event that they report a violation or hazard taking place with regard to their respective employment – or place of employment

Missouri Divorce Laws

Within the state of Missouri, a divorce is defined as the termination of a marriage, which can occur upon a decision set forth by one or both partners involved in the marriage:

•    A divorce must be filed by an individual residing within the state of Missourifor no less than a period of 90 days’ time

•    ‘No Fault’ divorce does exist on the grounds of irretrievable breakdown

Missouri Death Penalty Laws

Within the state of Missouri, Capital Punishment – or the Death Penalty – is legal; however, additional stipulations exist with regard to this procedure:

•    In the event of mental instability or physical incapacity, capital punishment is disallowed

•    The minimum age permissible for capital punishment sentencing is 16 years of age

•    Within the state of Missouri, homicideis considered to be the only crimes punishable by death

•    The accepted means of capital punishment is the administration of lethal injectionor lethal gassing

Missouri Gambling Laws

Within the state of Missouri, Gambling is defined as the purposeful risking of any or all assets, property or monies with the intention of gain; a primary stipulation exists that expressed that the individual retains no control of peripheral outcome(s) with regard to any wagers set forth:

•    Licensed Horse racing wagering is legal

•    Gambling is permissible on licensed nautical or boating facilities; any and all unsanctioned structures and facilities intended to house gambling activity are deemed as illegal in the state of Missouri

Missouri Child Laws

Within the state of Missouri, the following stipulations with regard to child laws and child custody are recognized:

•    Joint custody is permitted

•    The rights implied within grandparental visitation are recognized

•    The wishes of any or all children involves are taken into consideration with regard to a custody decision

Comments

comments

Share

Related Articles


Categories

Read previous post:
The State Laws of Louisiana

Close