Laws Lawyers Find Laws Legal Forms State Laws
Home » Find Laws » State Laws » The State Laws of Vermont

The State Laws of Vermont

Listen
Disclaimer: Due to the fact that individual state laws are constantly subject to change, individuals are encouraged to consult an attorney prior to engaging in any activity, action, or event in which the expressed legality may come into question. Furthermore, individuals interested in attaining information with regard to individual state legislature are also encouraged to perform independent research in order to substantiate the relevancy and current state(s) of specific legislation. Contact Vermont lawyers for legal advice and assistance. Vermont Abortion Laws Within the state of Vermont, Abortion is defined as the purposeful termination of a pregnancy through procedural means. Subsequent to the decision of Roe v. Wade, abortion became legal within the United States – however, Vermont state legislation expresses a variety of stipulations with regard to a legal abortion process: •A legal abortion may occur in the event that the protection and preservation of the life of the mother carrying a fetus is compromised as a result of a pregnancy; an abortion can take place in order to save the life of the mother only upon accredited and sanctioned medical review – only a licensed medical doctor will be permitted to both review and perform cases of abortion within the state of Vermont •An illegal abortion is deemed as an abortion process that occurs in the event that the health and wellbeing of the mother is not in danger; furthermore, an illegal abortion is defined as a procedure that occurs outside of legal, accepted, and authorized medical procedural protocol •In the event that a mother dies during an unlawful abortion procedure, a prison sentence ranging from 5 to 20 years can be instituted; in the event that am mother does not die, a prison sentence ranging from 3 to 10 years can be instituted – unlawful, purposeful miscarriages can range in punishment from incarceration to monetary fines Vermont Gay Marriage Laws Gay Marriage is currently legal within the state of Vermont Vermont Marijuana Laws Within the state of Vermont, the possession of Marijuana - or Cannabis products – as well as the acts of growing or distributing marijuana without the expressed permission of the Vermont State Government is a punishable, criminal offense. The following penalties are associated with Marijuana within the state of Vermont: Possession of Marijuana Charges 1.Amount: less than 2 ounces (first offense) •Penalty: 6 months’ incarceration •Fines: $500 •Classification: Misdemeanor 1.Amount: less than 2 ounces (second offense) •Penalty: 2 years’ incarceration •Fines: $2,000 •Classification: Misdemeanor 2.Amount: 2 ounces - 1 pound •Penalty:3 years’ incarceration •Fines: $10,000 •Classification: Felony 3.Amount: 1 – 10 pounds •Penalty: 5 years’ incarceration •Fines: $100,000 •Classification: Felony 4.Amount: 10 pounds + •Penalty: 15 years’ incarceration •Fines: $500,000 •Classification: Felony Cultivation and/or Intent to Distribute Marijuana Supplementary Charges include Possession, Sale, and Sale to a minor with regard to Drug Paraphernalia; Marijuana charges may be subject to increase to the proximity to a school zone – sale to a minor may also incur harsher penalty ranging from an additional 5 to 10 years’ incarceration. The illegal cultivation of Marijuana may result in incarceration and fines corollary to the amount of plants discovered in possession. 1.Amount: 0 – 2 ounces •Penalty: 2 year’s incarceration •Fines: $10,000 •Classification: Misdemeanor 2.Amount: ½ ounce – 1 pound •Penalty: 5 years’ incarceration •Fines: $100,000 •Classification: Felony 3.Amount: 1+ pound •Penalty:15 years’ incarceration •Fines: $500,000 •Classification: Felony Medical Marijuana Within the state of Vermont, Medical Marijuana is considered to be legal upon prescription by an authorized, accredited medical professional; the appropriate amount allowed is 2 ounces per patient Vermont DWI and DUI Laws Driving while intoxicated (DWI) and driving while under the influence (DUI) charges exist in the event that an individual ingests illegal drugs, alcohol, or controlled-substances, which may impair their respective ability to safely operate a motor vehicle; the following DUI and DWI laws exist within the state of Vermont: •Zero tolerance laws exist in the event that an individual below the legal age permissible to consume alcohol is suspected to be unlawfully operating a motor vehicle; within the state of Vermont, the Zero Tolerance Blood Alcohol Content Level (BAC) cannot exceed .02% •The BAC limit for individuals operating motor vehicles may not reach .08%; this can constitute a DUI or DWI offense •In Vermont, there currently exist no supplementary penalties incurred due to BAC levels exceeding the expressed, legal limit •Implied consent is a legal instrument that is employed within the realm of a DUI Arrest that entails a verbal or written contract resulting from the willing participation in a regulated activity, such as the operation of a motor vehicle; within Vermont, law enforcement agents are permitted to act in accordance with implied consent laws •Upon a DUI or DWI conviction, and individuals is subject to undergo the loss of driving privileges for a period of no less than 90 days’ time;upon a third DUI or DWI conviction, an individual is subject to undergo the confiscation of their vehicle Vermont Gun Laws A handgun is a firearm whose smaller size is fashioned to be used upon operation by one hand, which typically fire single round ammunition; within the state of Vermont, handgun laws are as follows: •The sale, ownership, or possession of handguns with regard children below the age(s) of 16 without parental consent is considered to be illegal •A waiting period for the purchase of a firearm does not currently exist in the state of Vermont •Current listing or report of forearms considered to be illegal in the state of Vermont: Zip guns, silenced firearms, and slingshots •Legal Codes: title 13, 4001 (Vermont gun laws), Title 13, 4004 (the prohibition of firearms within a school zone) Vermont Adoption Laws In the state of Vermont, an individual who has been deemed as a law-abiding citizen who is deemed to be of sound mind and moral character is permitted to adopt a child; spouses must agree to an adoption in a joint fashion: •Within the state of Vermont, and individual must maintain residence for a period of no less than 6 months •Any individual may be adopted; children above the age(s) of 14 must express consent with regard to a potential adoption •Within the state of Vermont, the Department of Social and Rehabilitation Services mandates all adoptions Vermont Employment and Labor Laws •Within the state of Vermont, the minimum wage is $8.06 awarded per hour of labor •State Holidays are listed as: New Year's Day, Martin Luther King, Jr.'s Birthday, Washington's Birthday, Lincoln's Birthday, Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Columbus Day, Veterans Day, Thanksgiving, Christmas, Town Meeting Day, and Bennington Battle Day •Within the state of Vermont, an individual’s employ cannot be terminated in the event that they report a violation or hazard taking place with regard to their respective employment – or place of employment Vermont Divorce Laws Within the state of Vermont, a divorce is defined as the termination of a marriage, which can occur upon a decision set forth by one or both partners involved in the marriage: •A divorce must be filed 6 months prior to the initial action, 1 year prior to the final hearing, or 2 years prior to petitioning for grounds of insanity. •‘No Fault’ divorce does exist on the grounds that a couple has been separated for 6 months’ time Vermont Death Penalty Laws Within the state of Vermont, Capital Punishment – or the Death Penalty – is illegal Vermont Gambling Laws Within the state of Vermont, Gambling is defined as the purposeful risking of any or all assets, property or monies with the intention of gain; a primary stipulation exists that expressed that the individual retains no control of peripheral outcome(s) with regard to any wagers set forth: •Horse racing wagering is legal; however, horse-racing is considered to be illegal prior to 1 pm on Sunday •Any and all unsanctioned structures and facilities intended to house gambling activity is deemed as illegal in the state of Vermont Vermont Child Laws Within the state of Vermont, the following stipulations with regard to child laws and child custody are recognized: •Joint custody is permitted •The rights implied within grandparental visitation are recognized •The wishes of any or all children involves are not taken into consideration with regard to a custody decision
Font Size: AAA
Loading...
  • Play
  • Pause
  • Volume:
  • Mute
  • Half
  • Max
  • State Of Vermont

    Disclaimer:

    Due to the fact that individual state laws are constantly subject to change, individuals are encouraged to consult an attorney prior to engaging in any activity, action, or event in which the expressed legality may come into question. Furthermore, individuals interested in attaining information with regard to individual state legislature are also encouraged to perform independent research in order to substantiate the relevancy and current state(s) of specific legislation. Contact Vermont lawyers for legal advice and assistance.

    Vermont Abortion Laws

    Within the state of Vermont, Abortion is defined as the purposeful termination of a pregnancy through procedural means. Subsequent to the decision of Roe v. Wade, abortion became legal within the United States – however, Vermont state legislation expresses a variety of stipulations with regard to a legal abortion process:

    • A legal abortion may occur in the event that the protection and preservation of the life of the mother carrying a fetus is compromised as a result of a pregnancy; an abortion can take place in order to save the life of the mother only upon accredited and sanctioned medical review – only a licensed medical doctor will be permitted to both review and perform cases of abortion within the state of Vermont

    • An illegal abortion is deemed as an abortion process that occurs in the event that the health and wellbeing of the mother is not in danger; furthermore, an illegal abortion is defined as a procedure that occurs outside of legal, accepted, and authorized medical procedural protocol

    • In the event that a mother dies during an unlawful abortion procedure, a prison sentence ranging from 5 to 20 years can be instituted; in the event that am mother does not die, a prison sentence ranging from 3 to 10 years can be instituted – unlawful, purposeful miscarriages can range in punishment from incarceration to monetary fines

    Vermont Gay Marriage Laws

    Gay Marriage is currently legal within the state of Vermont

    Vermont Marijuana Laws

    Within the state of Vermont, the possession of Marijuana - or Cannabis products – as well as the acts of growing or distributing marijuana without the expressed permission of the Vermont State Government is a punishable, criminal offense. The following penalties are associated with Marijuana within the state of Vermont:

    Possession of Marijuana Charges

    1. Amount: less than 2 ounces (first offense)

    • Penalty: 6 months’ incarceration

    • Fines: $500

    • Classification: Misdemeanor

    1. Amount: less than 2 ounces (second offense)

    • Penalty: 2 years’ incarceration

    • Fines: $2,000

    • Classification: Misdemeanor

    2. Amount: 2 ounces - 1 pound

    • Penalty: 3 years’ incarceration

    • Fines: $10,000

    • Classification: Felony

    3. Amount: 1 – 10 pounds

    • Penalty: 5 years’ incarceration

    • Fines: $100,000

    • Classification: Felony

    4. Amount: 10 pounds +

    • Penalty: 15 years’ incarceration

    • Fines: $500,000

    • Classification: Felony

    Cultivation and/or Intent to Distribute Marijuana

    Supplementary Charges include Possession, Sale, and Sale to a minor with regard to Drug Paraphernalia; Marijuana charges may be subject to increase to the proximity to a school zone – sale to a minor may also incur harsher penalty ranging from an additional 5 to 10 years’ incarceration. The illegal cultivation of Marijuana may result in incarceration and fines corollary to the amount of plants discovered in possession.

    1. Amount: 0 – 2 ounces

    • Penalty: 2 year’s incarceration

    • Fines: $10,000

    • Classification: Misdemeanor

    2. Amount: ½ ounce – 1 pound

    • Penalty: 5 years’ incarceration

    • Fines: $100,000

    • Classification: Felony

    3. Amount: 1+ pound

    • Penalty: 15 years’ incarceration

    • Fines: $500,000

    • Classification: Felony

    Medical Marijuana

    Within the state of Vermont, Medical Marijuana is considered to be legal upon prescription by an authorized, accredited medical professional; the appropriate amount allowed is 2 ounces per patient

    Vermont DWI and DUI Laws

    Driving while intoxicated (DWI) and driving while under the influence (DUI) charges exist in the event that an individual ingests illegal drugs, alcohol, or controlled-substances, which may impair their respective ability to safely operate a motor vehicle; the following DUI and DWI laws exist within the state of Vermont:

    • Zero tolerance laws exist in the event that an individual below the legal age permissible to consume alcohol is suspected to be unlawfully operating a motor vehicle; within the state of Vermont, the Zero Tolerance Blood Alcohol Content Level (BAC) cannot exceed .02%

    • The BAC limit for individuals operating motor vehicles may not reach .08%; this can constitute a DUI or DWI offense

    • In Vermont, there currently exist no supplementary penalties incurred due to BAC levels exceeding the expressed, legal limit

    • Implied consent is a legal instrument that is employed within the realm of a DUI Arrest that entails a verbal or written contract resulting from the willing participation in a regulated activity, such as the operation of a motor vehicle; within Vermont, law enforcement agents are permitted to act in accordance with implied consent laws

    • Upon a DUI or DWI conviction, and individuals is subject to undergo the loss of driving privileges for a period of no less than 90 days’ time; upon a third DUI or DWI conviction, an individual is subject to undergo the confiscation of their vehicle

    Vermont Gun Laws

    A handgun is a firearm whose smaller size is fashioned to be used upon operation by one hand, which typically fire single round ammunition; within the state of Vermont, handgun laws are as follows:

    • The sale, ownership, or possession of handguns with regard children below the age(s) of 16 without parental consent is considered to be illegal

    • A waiting period for the purchase of a firearm does not currently exist in the state of Vermont

    • Current listing or report of forearms considered to be illegal in the state of Vermont: Zip guns, silenced firearms, and slingshots

    • Legal Codes: title 13, 4001 (Vermont gun laws), Title 13, 4004 (the prohibition of firearms within a school zone)

    Vermont Adoption Laws

    In the state of Vermont, an individual who has been deemed as a law-abiding citizen who is deemed to be of sound mind and moral character is permitted to adopt a child; spouses must agree to an adoption in a joint fashion:

    • Within the state of Vermont, and individual must maintain residence for a period of no less than 6 months

    • Any individual may be adopted; children above the age(s) of 14 must express consent with regard to a potential adoption

    • Within the state of Vermont, the Department of Social and Rehabilitation Services mandates all adoptions

    Vermont Employment and Labor Laws

    • Within the state of Vermont, the minimum wage is $8.06 awarded per hour of labor

    • State Holidays are listed as: New Year's Day, Martin Luther King, Jr.'s Birthday, Washington's Birthday, Lincoln's Birthday, Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Columbus Day, Veterans Day, Thanksgiving, Christmas, Town Meeting Day, and Bennington Battle Day

    • Within the state of Vermont, an individual’s employ cannot be terminated in the event that they report a violation or hazard taking place with regard to their respective employment – or place of employment

    Vermont Divorce Laws

    Within the state of Vermont, a divorce is defined as the termination of a marriage, which can occur upon a decision set forth by one or both partners involved in the marriage:

    • A divorce must be filed 6 months prior to the initial action, 1 year prior to the final hearing, or 2 years prior to petitioning for grounds of insanity.

    • ‘No Fault’ divorce does exist on the grounds that a couple has been separated for 6 months’ time

    Vermont Death Penalty Laws

    Within the state of Vermont, Capital Punishment – or the Death Penalty – is illegal

    Vermont Gambling Laws

    Within the state of Vermont, Gambling is defined as the purposeful risking of any or all assets, property or monies with the intention of gain; a primary stipulation exists that expressed that the individual retains no control of peripheral outcome(s) with regard to any wagers set forth:

    • Horse racing wagering is legal; however, horse-racing is considered to be illegal prior to 1 pm on Sunday

    • Any and all unsanctioned structures and facilities intended to house gambling activity is deemed as illegal in the state of Vermont

    Vermont Child Laws

    Within the state of Vermont, the following stipulations with regard to child laws and child custody are recognized:

    • Joint custody is permitted

    • The rights implied within grandparental visitation are recognized

    • The wishes of any or all children involves are not taken into consideration with regard to a custody decision

    Related Articles

    Link To This Page

    Comments

    POPULAR IN STATE LAWS

    Laws Against Nudist Colonies
    STATE LAWS
    Laws Against Nudist Colonies
    The State Laws of Colorado
    STATE LAWS
    The State Laws of Colorado
    Guide to Finding a Lawyer
    Operation Confirm
    Are you sure you want to delete it?
      
    Tips