Laws Lawyers Find Laws Legal Forms State Laws Bills
Home » Find Laws » State Laws » The State Laws of Oregon

The State Laws of Oregon

Listen
Disclaimer: Due to the fact that individual state laws are constantly subject to change, individuals are encouraged to consult an attorney prior to engaging in any activity, action, or event in which the expressed legality may come into question. Furthermore, individuals interested in attaining information with regard to individual state legislature are also encouraged to perform independent research in order to substantiate the relevancy and current state(s) of specific legislation. Oregon Abortion Laws Within the state of Oregon, Abortion is defined as the purposeful termination of a pregnancy through procedural means. Subsequent to the decision of Roe v. Wade, abortion became legal within the United States – however, Oregon state legislation expresses a variety of stipulations with regard to a legal abortion process: •Abortion is currently illegal in the state of Oregon Oregon Marijuana Laws Within the state of Oregon, the possession of Marijuana - or Cannabis products – as well as the acts of growing or distributing marijuana without the expressed permission of the Oregon State Government is a punishable, criminal offense. The following penalties are associated with Marijuana within the state of Oregon: Possession/Under the Influence of Marijuana 1.Amount: less than 1 ounce •Penalty: none •Fines: $500 - $1,000 •Classification: Misdemeanor 2.Amount: 1 ounce – 110 grams •Penalty: up to 10 years’ incarceration •Fines: $100,000 •Classification: Class B Felony 3.Amount: more than 110 grams •Penalty: varies •Fines: varies •Classification: varies Cultivation and/or Intent to Distribute Marijuana Supplementary Charges include Possession, Sale, and Sale to a minor with regard to Drug Paraphernalia; Marijuana charges may be subject to increase to the proximity to a school zone – sale to a minor may also incur additional fines and incarceration 4.Amount: less than 5 grams (gift) •Penalty: none •Fines: $500 - $1,000 •Classification: Misdemeanor 5.Amount: 5 grams – 1 ounce (gift) •Penalty: up to 1 years’ incarceration •Fines: $5,000 •Classification: Class A Misdemeanor 6.Amount: Any •Penalty: up to 10 years’ incarceration •Fines: $100,000 •Classification: Class B Felony Medical Marijuana Within the state of Oregon, Medical Marijuana is considered to be legal upon prescription by an authorized, accredited medical professional; the appropriate amount allowed is 24 ounces per patient Oregon DWI and DUI Laws Driving while intoxicated (DWI) and driving while under the influence (DUI) charges exist in the event that an individual ingests illegal drugs, alcohol, or controlled-substances, which may impair their respective ability to safely operate a motor vehicle; the following DUI and DWI laws exist within the state of Oregon: •Zero tolerance laws exist in the event that an individual below the legal age permissible to consume alcohol is suspected to be unlawfully operating a motor vehicle; within the state of Oregon, the Zero Tolerance Blood Alcohol Content Level (BAC) cannot exceed .00% •The BAC limit for individuals operating motor vehicles may not reach .08%; this can constitute a DUI or DWI offense •In Oregon, there currently exist no supplementary penalties incurred due to BAC levels exceeding the expressed, legal limit •Implied consent is a legal instrument that is employed within the realm of a DUI Arrest that entails a verbal or written contract resulting from the willing participation in a regulated activity, such as the operation of a motor vehicle; within Oregon, law enforcement agents are permitted to act in accordance with implied consent laws •Upon a DUI or DWI conviction, and individuals is subject to undergo the loss of driving privileges for a period of no less than 90 days’ time;penalties can range upwards of 1 year in addition to the installation of an ignition interlock device •Upon a DUI or DWI conviction, an individual is subject to undergo the confiscation of their vehicle Oregon Gun Laws A handgun is a firearm whose smaller size is fashioned to be used upon operation by one hand, which typically fire single round ammunition; within the state of Oregon, handgun laws are as follows: •The sale, ownership, or possession of handguns with regard to convicted felons, minors without parental consent, inmates, or individuals who have been in long-term care in a mental health facility is illegal in the state of Oregon;individuals carrying illegal weapons on their person during the time of a crime, aggravated assault can be attributed to any coinciding criminal convictions imposed •A15-day waiting period exists for all residents of Oregon •Current listing or report of forearms considered to be illegal in the state of Oregon: altered firearms, sawed-off shotguns, armor-piercing bullets, and machine guns Oregon Adoption Laws In the state of Oregon, an individual who has been deemed as a law-abiding citizen 18 years or older who is of sound mind and moral character is permitted to adopt a child: •Any individual may be adopted; children above the age(s) of 14 must express consent with regard to a potential adoption •Within the state of Oregon, and individual must maintain residence for a period of no less than 6 months; residence subsequent to eh adoption is not required •Within the state of Oregon, the Department of HumanServices mandates all adoptions •The statute of limitations available to challenge an adoption is 1 years’ time subsequent to the adoption Oregon Employment and Labor Laws •Within the state of Oregon, the minimum wage is $8.40awarded per hour of labor •Within the state of Oregon, an individual’s employ cannot be terminated in the event that they report a violation or hazard taking place with regard to their respective employment – or place of employment Oregon Divorce Laws Within the state of Oregon, a divorce is defined as the termination of a marriage, which can occur upon a decision set forth by one or both partners involved in the marriage: •A divorce must be filed by an individual residing in the state of Oregonfor no less than 6 months’ time •‘No Fault’ divorce does exist on the grounds of irremediable breakdown; a separation of 1 year must occur •The final decision is instituted immediately subsequent to a 90-day waiting period Oregon Death Penalty Laws Within the state of Oregon, Capital Punishment – or the Death Penalty – is legal; however, additional stipulations exist with regard to this procedure: •The minimum age permissible for a capital punishment sentence is 14 •Within the state of Oregon, homicide and treason are considered to be the only crimes punishable by death •The accepted means of capital punishment is the administration of lethal injection Oregon Gambling Laws Within the state of Oregon, Gambling is defined as the purposeful risking of any or all assets, property or monies with the intention of gain; a primary stipulation exists that expressed that the individual retains no control of peripheral outcome(s) with regard to any wagers set forth: •Horse racing wagering is legal •Greyhound racing wagering is illegal •Gambling is permissible on Native American land; any and all unsanctioned structures and facilities intended to house gambling activity is deemed as illegal in the state of Oregon Oregon Child Laws Within the state of Oregon, the following stipulations with regard to child laws and child custody are recognized: •Joint custody is permitted •The rights implied within grandparental visitation are recognized •The wishes of any or all children involves are not taken into consideration with regard to a custody decision
Font Size: AAA
Loading...
  • Play
  • Pause
  • Volume:
  • Mute
  • Half
  • Max
  • State Of Oregon

    Disclaimer:

    Due to the fact that individual state laws are constantly subject to change, individuals are encouraged to consult an attorney prior to engaging in any activity, action, or event in which the expressed legality may come into question. Furthermore, individuals interested in attaining information with regard to individual state legislature are also encouraged to perform independent research in order to substantiate the relevancy and current state(s) of specific legislation.

    Oregon Abortion Laws

    Within the state of Oregon, Abortion is defined as the purposeful termination of a pregnancy through procedural means. Subsequent to the decision of Roe v. Wade, abortion became legal within the United States – however, Oregon state legislation expresses a variety of stipulations with regard to a legal abortion process:

    • Abortion is currently illegal in the state of Oregon

    Oregon Marijuana Laws

    Within the state of Oregon, the possession of Marijuana - or Cannabis products – as well as the acts of growing or distributing marijuana without the expressed permission of the Oregon State Government is a punishable, criminal offense. The following penalties are associated with Marijuana within the state of Oregon:

    Possession/Under the Influence of Marijuana

    1. Amount: less than 1 ounce

    • Penalty: none

    • Fines: $500 - $1,000

    • Classification: Misdemeanor

    2. Amount: 1 ounce – 110 grams

    • Penalty: up to 10 years’ incarceration

    • Fines: $100,000

    • Classification: Class B Felony

    3. Amount: more than 110 grams

    • Penalty: varies

    • Fines: varies

    • Classification: varies

    Cultivation and/or Intent to Distribute Marijuana

    Supplementary Charges include Possession, Sale, and Sale to a minor with regard to Drug Paraphernalia; Marijuana charges may be subject to increase to the proximity to a school zone – sale to a minor may also incur additional fines and incarceration

    4. Amount: less than 5 grams (gift)

    • Penalty: none

    • Fines: $500 - $1,000

    • Classification: Misdemeanor

    5. Amount: 5 grams – 1 ounce (gift)

    • Penalty: up to 1 years’ incarceration

    • Fines: $5,000

    • Classification: Class A Misdemeanor

    6. Amount: Any

    • Penalty: up to 10 years’ incarceration

    • Fines: $100,000

    • Classification: Class B Felony

    Medical Marijuana

    Within the state of Oregon, Medical Marijuana is considered to be legal upon prescription by an authorized, accredited medical professional; the appropriate amount allowed is 24 ounces per patient

    Oregon DWI and DUI Laws

    Driving while intoxicated (DWI) and driving while under the influence (DUI) charges exist in the event that an individual ingests illegal drugs, alcohol, or controlled-substances, which may impair their respective ability to safely operate a motor vehicle; the following DUI and DWI laws exist within the state of Oregon:

    • Zero tolerance laws exist in the event that an individual below the legal age permissible to consume alcohol is suspected to be unlawfully operating a motor vehicle; within the state of Oregon, the Zero Tolerance Blood Alcohol Content Level (BAC) cannot exceed .00%

    • The BAC limit for individuals operating motor vehicles may not reach .08%; this can constitute a DUI or DWI offense

    • In Oregon, there currently exist no supplementary penalties incurred due to BAC levels exceeding the expressed, legal limit

    • Implied consent is a legal instrument that is employed within the realm of a DUI Arrest that entails a verbal or written contract resulting from the willing participation in a regulated activity, such as the operation of a motor vehicle; within Oregon, law enforcement agents are permitted to act in accordance with implied consent laws

    • Upon a DUI or DWI conviction, and individuals is subject to undergo the loss of driving privileges for a period of no less than 90 days’ time; penalties can range upwards of 1 year in addition to the installation of an ignition interlock device

    • Upon a DUI or DWI conviction, an individual is subject to undergo the confiscation of their vehicle

    Oregon Gun Laws

    A handgun is a firearm whose smaller size is fashioned to be used upon operation by one hand, which typically fire single round ammunition; within the state of Oregon, handgun laws are as follows:

    • The sale, ownership, or possession of handguns with regard to convicted felons, minors without parental consent, inmates, or individuals who have been in long-term care in a mental health facility is illegal in the state of Oregon; individuals carrying illegal weapons on their person during the time of a crime, aggravated assault can be attributed to any coinciding criminal convictions imposed

    • A15-day waiting period exists for all residents of Oregon

    • Current listing or report of forearms considered to be illegal in the state of Oregon: altered firearms, sawed-off shotguns, armor-piercing bullets, and machine guns

    Oregon Adoption Laws

    In the state of Oregon, an individual who has been deemed as a law-abiding citizen 18 years or older who is of sound mind and moral character is permitted to adopt a child:

    • Any individual may be adopted; children above the age(s) of 14 must express consent with regard to a potential adoption

    • Within the state of Oregon, and individual must maintain residence for a period of no less than 6 months; residence subsequent to eh adoption is not required

    • Within the state of Oregon, the Department of HumanServices mandates all adoptions

    • The statute of limitations available to challenge an adoption is 1 years’ time subsequent to the adoption

    Oregon Employment and Labor Laws

    • Within the state of Oregon, the minimum wage is $8.40awarded per hour of labor

    • Within the state of Oregon, an individual’s employ cannot be terminated in the event that they report a violation or hazard taking place with regard to their respective employment – or place of employment

    Oregon Divorce Laws

    Within the state of Oregon, a divorce is defined as the termination of a marriage, which can occur upon a decision set forth by one or both partners involved in the marriage:

    • A divorce must be filed by an individual residing in the state of Oregonfor no less than 6 months’ time

    • ‘No Fault’ divorce does exist on the grounds of irremediable breakdown; a separation of 1 year must occur

    • The final decision is instituted immediately subsequent to a 90-day waiting period

    Oregon Death Penalty Laws

    Within the state of Oregon, Capital Punishment – or the Death Penalty – is legal; however, additional stipulations exist with regard to this procedure:

    • The minimum age permissible for a capital punishment sentence is 14

    • Within the state of Oregon, homicide and treason are considered to be the only crimes punishable by death

    • The accepted means of capital punishment is the administration of lethal injection

    Oregon Gambling Laws

    Within the state of Oregon, Gambling is defined as the purposeful risking of any or all assets, property or monies with the intention of gain; a primary stipulation exists that expressed that the individual retains no control of peripheral outcome(s) with regard to any wagers set forth:

    • Horse racing wagering is legal

    • Greyhound racing wagering is illegal

    • Gambling is permissible on Native American land; any and all unsanctioned structures and facilities intended to house gambling activity is deemed as illegal in the state of Oregon

    Oregon Child Laws

    Within the state of Oregon, the following stipulations with regard to child laws and child custody are recognized:

    • Joint custody is permitted

    • The rights implied within grandparental visitation are recognized

    • The wishes of any or all children involves are not taken into consideration with regard to a custody decision

    Related Articles

    Link To This Page

    Comments

    POPULAR IN STATE LAWS

    Laws Against Nudist Colonies
    STATE LAWS
    Laws Against Nudist Colonies
    The State Laws of Colorado
    STATE LAWS
    The State Laws of Colorado
    Guide to Finding a Lawyer
    Tips