State Laws


The State Laws of Kansas

The State Laws of Kansas

Share
The State Laws of Kansas

Disclaimer: 

Due to the fact that individual state laws are constantly subject to change, individuals are encouraged to consult an attorney prior to engaging in any activity, action, or event in which the expressed legality may come into question. Furthermore, individuals interested in attaining information with regard to individual state legislature are also encouraged to perform independent research in order to substantiate the relevancy and current state(s) of specific legislation. 

Kansas Abortion Laws

•    Statutory Definition of Illegal Abortion in Kansas: To perform or induce abortion when fetus is viable, that is, in attending physician's best medical judgment, fetus is capable of sustained survival outside the uterus without extraordinary medical means

•    Statutory Definition of Legal Abortion in Kansas: As long as fetus is not viable (and mother's informed consent obtained); abortion of viable fetus permitted if 2nd M.D. certifies that abortion is necessary to preserve life of mother or fetus has severe, life-threatening deformity or abnormality

•    Penalty for Illegal Abortion: Class A nonperson misdemeanor

Kansas Marijuana Laws

•    Code Section: 65-4101

•    Possession: Class A-nonperson misdemeanor. Subsequent offenses: Level 4 felony

•    Sale: Level 3 felony; Sell within 1000 ft. of school or to minor: Level 2 felony

Kansas DWI and DUI Laws

Driving while intoxicated (DWI) and driving while under the influence (DUI) charges exist in the event that an individual ingests illegal drugs, alcohol, or controlled-substances, which may impair their respective ability to safely operate a motor vehicle; the following Kansas law on DUI and DWI exist.

•    Zero tolerance laws exist in the event that an individual below the legal age permissible to consume alcohol is suspected to be unlawfully operating a motor vehicle; within the state of Kansas, the Zero Tolerance Blood Alcohol Content Level (BAC) cannot exceed .02%

•    The BAC limit for individuals operating motor vehicles may not reach .08%; this can constitute a DUI or DWI offense

•    In Kansas, there currently exist no supplementary penalties incurred due to BAC levels exceeding the expressed, legal limit

•    Implied consent is a legal instrument that is employed within the realm of a DUI Arrest that entails a verbal or written contract resulting from the willing participation in a regulated activity, such as the operation of a motor vehicle; within Kansas, law enforcement agents are permitted to act in accordance with implied consent laws

 

•    Upon a DUI or DWI conviction, and individuals is subject to undergo the loss of driving privileges for a period of no less than 90 days’ time;  penalties can range upwards of 1 year in addition to the installation of an ignition interlock device

Kansas Gun Laws

•    Kansas is a shall issue state for gun rights

•    Kansas does not require a permit for ownership or concealed carry for all firearms

•    Waiting periods will vary based on cities and counties

•    Illegal Arms in Kansas include: Shotgun with barrel less than 18 inches; automatic weapons; cartridges which can be fired by handgun and have plastic-coated bullets with core of less than 60% lead by weight; any device for use in silencing firearm

•    The following individuals may not own a firearm in Kansas: 1. Both addicted to and an unlawful user of a controlled substance; 2. Person convicted of felonies specified under 21-4204(a)(3) and (4) may be denied gun ownership if they have been convicted within either the last 5 years or the last 10 years, depending on the crime

Kansas Adoption Laws

•    Any person or adult with consent may be adopted

•    Consent is required for children over the age of 14 years old

•    Any adult, or husband and wife jointly may adopt. One spouse cannot adopt without consent of the other

Kansas Employment and Labor Laws

•    Within the state of Kansas, the minimum wage is 7 dollars and 15 cents awarded per hour of labor

•    State Holidays are listed as: New Year's Day, Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Thanksgiving, and Christmas - Veteran’s Day, Martin Luther King, Jr.'s Birthday, and President’s Day result in the closing of public institutions only upon the decision set forth by the local board of trustees and government

•    Within the state of Kansas, an individual’s employ cannot be terminated in the event that they report a violation or hazard taking place with regard to their respective employment – or place of employment

Kansas Death Penalty Laws 

•    Capital punishment is allowed in Kansas

•    The minimum age is 18

•    Only a homicide conviction may warrant the death penalty

•    Lethal injection is the method of execution in Kansas

Kansas Gambling Laws

Within the state of Kansas, Gambling is defined as the purposeful risking of any or all assets, property or monies with the intention of gain; a primary stipulation exists that expressed that the individual retains no control of peripheral outcome(s) with regard to any wagers set forth:

•    Horse racing wagering is legal (off-track betting is not permitted)

•    Dog racing wagering is legal (off-track betting is not permitted)

•    All casinos are illegal except for those on Indian Reservations

Kansas Child Laws

Within the state of Kansas, the following stipulations with regard to child laws and child custody are recognized:

•    Joint custody is permitted

•    The rights implied within grandparental visitation are recognized

•    The wishes of any or all children involves are taken into consideration with regard to a custody decision

 


Comments

comments

Share

Related Articles

Categories


Read previous post:
The State Laws of Louisiana

Close