Laws Lawyers Find Laws Legal Forms State Laws Bills
Home » Find Laws » State Laws » The State Laws of Georgia

The State Laws of Georgia

Listen
Disclaimer: Due to the fact that individual state laws are constantly subject to change, individuals are encouraged to consult an attorney prior to engaging in any activity, action, or event in which the expressed legality may come into question. Furthermore, individuals interested in attaining information with regard to individual state legislature are also encouraged to perform independent research in order to substantiate the relevancy and current state(s) of specific legislation. Georgia Abortion Laws •Statutory Definition of Illegal Abortion: By administering drugs, medicine, or substance or using instrument with intent to procure miscarriage or an abortion. Partial Birth Abortion: Unlawful except to save the mother’s life •Statutory Definition of Legal Abortion: After 1st trimester, must be performed in licensed hospital or health facility; after 2nd trimester, physician and 2 consulting physicians must certify it is necessary to preserve life or health of mother •Penalty for unlawful Abortion: Imprisonment 1 to 10 years; partial birth abortion: $5,0000 and/or imprisonment for up to 5 years. Georgia Marijuana Laws •Possession: Over 10 lbs. is trafficking; possession at all is a felony with penalty of 1-10 years. •Sale: Felony: 5-30 years •Trafficking: 10-2000 lbs.: 5 yrs. and mandatory $100,000; 2000-10,0000 lbs.: 7 years and mandatory $250,000; Over 10,000 lbs.: 15 yrs. and mandatory $1,000,000 Georgia DWI and DUI Laws Driving while intoxicated (DWI) and driving while under the influence (DUI) charges exist in the event that an individual ingests illegal drugs, alcohol, or controlled-substances, which may impair their respective ability to safely operate a motor vehicle; the following DUI and DWI laws exist within the state of Georgia: •Zero tolerance laws exist in the event that an individual below the legal age permissible to consume alcohol is suspected to be unlawfully operating a motor vehicle; within the state of Georgia, the Zero Tolerance Blood Alcohol Content Level (BAC) cannot exceed .02% •The BAC limit for individuals operating motor vehicles may not reach .08%; this can constitute a DUI or DWI offense •In Georgia, there currently exist no supplementary penalties incurred due to BAC levels exceeding the expressed, legal limit •Implied consent is a legal instrument that is employed within the realm of a DUI Arrest that entails a verbal or written contract resulting from the willing participation in a regulated activity, such as the operation of a motor vehicle; within Georgia, law enforcement agents are permitted to act in accordance with implied consent laws •Upon a DUI or DWI conviction, and individuals is subject to undergo the loss of driving privileges for a period of no less than 90 days’ time;penalties can range upwards of 1 year in addition to the installation of an ignition interlock device Georgia Gun Laws •State permit to purchase, firearm registration, and owner license is not required in Georgia for handguns or long guns. •Georgia does not institute assault weapons laws •Carry permits are issued for all types of guns •Unlicensed open carry is permitted for long guns, but not for handguns •Illegal firearms: Sawed-off shotgun or rifle; machine gun; dangerous weapon or silencer •Waiting Period: None, but 60 days for license to carry handgun •Who may not own: Convicted felon, minors under the age of 18, anyone hospitalized as inpatient at an mental hospital or drug or alcohol treatment center within 5 years of applying for gun license. Georgia Adoption Laws •Any individual may be adopted; children above the age(s) of 14 must express consent with regard to a potential adoption •Within the state of Georgia, the Department of Family Services mandates all adoptions •Any adult at least 25 years of age or married and living with spouse and bona fide resident for 6 months prior to filing petition may adopt. Individuals must be at least 10 years older than adoptive child. Georgia Employment and Labor Laws •Within the state of Georgia, the minimum wage is 5 dollars and 15 cents awarded per hour of labor •State Holidays are listed as: New Year's Day, Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Thanksgiving, and Christmas - Veteran’s Day, Wyoming Equality Day, Martin Luther King, Jr.'s Birthday, and President’s Day result in the closing of public institutions only upon the decision set forth by the local board of trustees and government •Within the state of Georgia, an individual’s employ cannot be terminated in the event that they report a violation or hazard taking place with regard to their respective employment – or place of employment Georgia Divorce Laws Within the state of Georgia, a divorce is defined as the termination of a marriage, which can occur upon a decision set forth by one or both partners involved in the marriage: •A divorce must be filed subsequent to 60 days residence within the state of Georgia; in the event that an individual –or individuals – were married in Georgia and lived there on a continuous basis, a time constraint for filing does not exist •‘No Fault’ divorce does exist on the grounds of irreconcilable differences Georgia Death Penalty Laws •Capital punishment is allowed in Georgia •Individual shall not be executed if pregnant. Minimum age for capital punishment is 17 •Homicide, aircraft hijacking or treason are felonies that would warrant Georgia death penalty •Method of execution is electrocution Georgia Gambling Laws •Horse Racing/Off-track betting: Prohibited •Dog Racing/Off-track Betting: Prohibited •Casinos Allowed: maintenance of gambling places or equipment is prohibited •Electronic wagering, commercial gambling, chain letter and pyramid schemes banned. Raffles for charitable organizations is allowed. Georgia Child Laws Within the state of Georgia, the following stipulations with regard to child laws and child custody are recognized: •Joint custody is permitted •The rights implied within grandparental visitation are recognized •The wishes of any or all children involves are taken into consideration with regard to a custody decision
Font Size: AAA
Loading...
  • Play
  • Pause
  • Volume:
  • Mute
  • Half
  • Max
  • State Of Georgia

    Disclaimer:

    Due to the fact that individual state laws are constantly subject to change, individuals are encouraged to consult an attorney prior to engaging in any activity, action, or event in which the expressed legality may come into question. Furthermore, individuals interested in attaining information with regard to individual state legislature are also encouraged to perform independent research in order to substantiate the relevancy and current state(s) of specific legislation.

    Georgia Abortion Laws

    • Statutory Definition of Illegal Abortion: By administering drugs, medicine, or substance or using instrument with intent to procure miscarriage or an abortion. Partial Birth Abortion: Unlawful except to save the mother’s life

    • Statutory Definition of Legal Abortion: After 1st trimester, must be performed in licensed hospital or health facility; after 2nd trimester, physician and 2 consulting physicians must certify it is necessary to preserve life or health of mother

    • Penalty for unlawful Abortion: Imprisonment 1 to 10 years; partial birth abortion: $5,0000 and/or imprisonment for up to 5 years.

    Georgia Marijuana Laws

    • Possession: Over 10 lbs. is trafficking; possession at all is a felony with penalty of 1-10 years.

    • Sale: Felony: 5-30 years

    • Trafficking: 10-2000 lbs.: 5 yrs. and mandatory $100,000; 2000-10,0000 lbs.: 7 years and mandatory $250,000; Over 10,000 lbs.: 15 yrs. and mandatory $1,000,000

    Georgia DWI and DUI Laws

    Driving while intoxicated (DWI) and driving while under the influence (DUI) charges exist in the event that an individual ingests illegal drugs, alcohol, or controlled-substances, which may impair their respective ability to safely operate a motor vehicle; the following DUI and DWI laws exist within the state of Georgia:

    • Zero tolerance laws exist in the event that an individual below the legal age permissible to consume alcohol is suspected to be unlawfully operating a motor vehicle; within the state of Georgia, the Zero Tolerance Blood Alcohol Content Level (BAC) cannot exceed .02%

    • The BAC limit for individuals operating motor vehicles may not reach .08%; this can constitute a DUI or DWI offense

    • In Georgia, there currently exist no supplementary penalties incurred due to BAC levels exceeding the expressed, legal limit

    • Implied consent is a legal instrument that is employed within the realm of a DUI Arrest that entails a verbal or written contract resulting from the willing participation in a regulated activity, such as the operation of a motor vehicle; within Georgia, law enforcement agents are permitted to act in accordance with implied consent laws

    • Upon a DUI or DWI conviction, and individuals is subject to undergo the loss of driving privileges for a period of no less than 90 days’ time; penalties can range upwards of 1 year in addition to the installation of an ignition interlock device

    Georgia Gun Laws

    • State permit to purchase, firearm registration, and owner license is not required in Georgia for handguns or long guns.

    • Georgia does not institute assault weapons laws

    • Carry permits are issued for all types of guns

    • Unlicensed open carry is permitted for long guns, but not for handguns

    • Illegal firearms: Sawed-off shotgun or rifle; machine gun; dangerous weapon or silencer

    • Waiting Period: None, but 60 days for license to carry handgun

    • Who may not own: Convicted felon, minors under the age of 18, anyone hospitalized as inpatient at an mental hospital or drug or alcohol treatment center within 5 years of applying for gun license.

    Georgia Adoption Laws

    • Any individual may be adopted; children above the age(s) of 14 must express consent with regard to a potential adoption

    • Within the state of Georgia, the Department of Family Services mandates all adoptions

    • Any adult at least 25 years of age or married and living with spouse and bona fide resident for 6 months prior to filing petition may adopt. Individuals must be at least 10 years older than adoptive child.

    Georgia Employment and Labor Laws

    • Within the state of Georgia, the minimum wage is 5 dollars and 15 cents awarded per hour of labor

    • State Holidays are listed as: New Year's Day, Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Thanksgiving, and Christmas - Veteran’s Day, Wyoming Equality Day, Martin Luther King, Jr.'s Birthday, and President’s Day result in the closing of public institutions only upon the decision set forth by the local board of trustees and government

    • Within the state of Georgia, an individual’s employ cannot be terminated in the event that they report a violation or hazard taking place with regard to their respective employment – or place of employment

    Georgia Divorce Laws

    Within the state of Georgia, a divorce is defined as the termination of a marriage, which can occur upon a decision set forth by one or both partners involved in the marriage:

    • A divorce must be filed subsequent to 60 days residence within the state of Georgia; in the event that an individual –or individuals – were married in Georgia and lived there on a continuous basis, a time constraint for filing does not exist

    • ‘No Fault’ divorce does exist on the grounds of irreconcilable differences

    Georgia Death Penalty Laws

    • Capital punishment is allowed in Georgia

    • Individual shall not be executed if pregnant. Minimum age for capital punishment is 17

    • Homicide, aircraft hijacking or treason are felonies that would warrant Georgia death penalty

    • Method of execution is electrocution

    Georgia Gambling Laws

    • Horse Racing/Off-track betting: Prohibited

    • Dog Racing/Off-track Betting: Prohibited

    • Casinos Allowed: maintenance of gambling places or equipment is prohibited

    • Electronic wagering, commercial gambling, chain letter and pyramid schemes banned. Raffles for charitable organizations is allowed.

    Georgia Child Laws

    Within the state of Georgia, the following stipulations with regard to child laws and child custody are recognized:

    • Joint custody is permitted

    • The rights implied within grandparental visitation are recognized

    • The wishes of any or all children involves are taken into consideration with regard to a custody decision

    Related Articles

    Link To This Page

    Comments

    POPULAR IN STATE LAWS

    The State Laws of Colorado
    STATE LAWS
    The State Laws of Colorado
    The State Laws of Virginia
    STATE LAWS
    The State Laws of Virginia
    Guide to Finding a Lawyer
    Tips