Laws Lawyers Find Laws Legal Forms State Laws Bills
Home » Find Laws » State Laws » The State Laws of Colorado

The State Laws of Colorado

Listen
Disclaimer: Due to the fact that individual state laws are constantly subject to change, individuals are encouraged to consult an attorney prior to engaging in any activity, action, or event in which the expressed legality may come into question. Furthermore, individuals interested in attaining information with regard to individual state legislature are also encouraged to perform independent research in order to substantiate the relevancy and current state(s) of specific legislation. Colorado Abortion Laws Within the state of Colorado, Abortion is defined as the purposeful termination of a pregnancy through procedural means. Subsequent to the decision of Roe v. Wade, abortion became legal within the United States – however, Colorado state legislation expresses a variety of stipulations with regard to a legal abortion process: •The statutory definition of an illegal abortion in Colorado is any medical operation which causes the termination of pregnancy by any means other than a justified medical birth •The statutory definition of a legal abortion is the ending of a pregnancy by a licensed physician using accepted medical procedures and with appropriate consent. •The penalty for an unlawful abortion is a Class 4 felony; if the woman dies it is a class 2 felony Colorado Marijuana Laws Within the state of Colorado, the possession of Marijuana - or Cannabis products – as well as the acts of growing or distributing marijuana without the expressed permission of the Colorado State Government is a punishable, criminal offense. The following penalties are associated with Marijuana within the state of Colorado: •Possession: Under 1 oz.: Class 2 petty offense, $100 fine; 1-8 oz.: Class 1 misdemeanor or Class 5 felony with prior conviction; Over 8 oz.: Class 5 felony or Class 4 felony with prior conviction; Public use: Class 2 petty offense, $100 fine and 15 days •Sale: Class 4 felony (transferring under 1 oz. for no consideration is possession, not a dispensing offense); subsequent offense: Class 3 felony, fine up to $10,000; Over 18 years old selling to minor under 15: Class 4 felony, fine up to $5,000 Colorado DWI and DUI Laws Driving while intoxicated (DWI) and driving while under the influence (DUI) charges exist in the event that an individual ingests illegal drugs, alcohol, or controlled-substances, which may impair their respective ability to safely operate a motor vehicle; the following DUI and DWI laws exist within the state of Colorado: •Zero tolerance laws exist in the event that an individual below the legal age permissible to consume alcohol is suspected to be unlawfully operating a motor vehicle; within the state of Colorado, the Zero Tolerance Blood Alcohol Content Level (BAC) cannot exceed .02% •The BAC limit for individuals operating motor vehicles may not reach .08%; this can constitute a DUI or DWI offense •In Colorado, there currently exist no supplementary penalties incurred due to BAC levels exceeding the expressed, legal limit •Implied consent is a legal instrument that is employed within the realm of a DUI Arrest that entails a verbal or written contract resulting from the willing participation in a regulated activity, such as the operation of a motor vehicle; within Colorado, law enforcement agents are permitted to act in accordance with implied consent laws •Upon a DUI or DWI conviction, and individuals is subject to undergo the loss of driving privileges for a period of no less than 90 days’ time;penalties can range upwards of 1 year in addition to the installation of an ignition interlock device Colorado Gun Laws A handgun is a firearm whose smaller size is fashioned to be used upon operation by one hand, which typically fire single round ammunition; within the state of Colorado, handgun laws are as follows: •The sale, ownership, or possession of handguns with regard to convicted felons or individuals who have been in long-term care in a mental health facility is illegal in the state of Colorado;individuals carrying illegal weapons on their person during the time of a crime, aggravated assault can be attributed to any coinciding criminal convictions imposed •A waiting period for the purchase of a firearm does not currently exist in the state of Colorado •Current listing or report of forearms considered to be illegal in the state of Colorado: •Legal Codes: 6-8-102 (Colorado gun laws), 6-8-104 (the prohibition of firearms within a school zone) Colorado Adoption Laws In the state of Colorado, an individual who has been deemed as a law-abiding citizen who is of sound mind and moral character is permitted to adopt a child: •Any child under 18 years of age (ages 18-21 upon court approval) may be adopted by any adult •Age that child’s consent is needed: 12 years and older •Who may adopt: Minor with court approval or any person over 21. Married person must petition jointly with spouse unless such spouse is natural parent of or has previously adopted child •The Social Services department of Colorado handles all adoption cases Colorado Employment and Labor Laws •Within the state of Colorado, the minimum wage is 5 dollars and 15 cents awarded per hour of labor •State Holidays are listed as: New Year's Day, Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Thanksgiving, and Christmas - Veteran’s Day, Wyoming Equality Day, Martin Luther King, Jr.'s Birthday, and President’s Day result in the closing of public institutions only upon the decision set forth by the local board of trustees and government •Within the state of Colorado, an individual’s employ cannot be terminated in the event that they report a violation or hazard taking place with regard to their respective employment – or place of employment Colorado Divorce Laws Within the state of Colorado, a divorce is defined as the termination of a marriage, which can occur upon a decision set forth by one or both partners involved in the marriage: •A divorce must be filed subsequent to 60 days residence within the state of Colorado; in the event that an individual –or individuals – were married in Colorado and lived there on a continuous basis, a time constraint for filing does not exist •‘No Fault’ divorce does exist on the grounds of irreconcilable differences Colorado Death Penalty Laws Within the state of Colorado, Capital Punishment – or the Death Penalty – is legal; however, additional stipulations exist with regard to this procedure: •In the event of mental instability authorized by a court or pregnancy, capital punishment is disallowed •The minimum age permissible for a capital punishment sentence is 16 •Within the state of Colorado, homicide is considered to be the only crime punishable by death •The accepted means of lethal injection is lethal injection Colorado Gambling Laws Within the state of Colorado, Gambling is defined as the purposeful risking of any or all assets, property or monies with the intention of gain; a primary stipulation exists that expressed that the individual retains no control of peripheral outcome(s) with regard to any wagers set forth: •Off-track simulcasts are permitted. Wagering on out-of-state simulcasts is permitted. Pari-mutuel wagering only •Wagering on greyhound races is permitted; off-track simulcasts are permitted. •Casinos are limited: slot machines, poker and black jack with maximum single bet of $5. Only allowed in cities of Central, Black Hawk, and Cripple Creek. Indian Reservation casinos allowed.
Font Size: AAA
Loading...
  • Play
  • Pause
  • Volume:
  • Mute
  • Half
  • Max
  • State Of Colorado

    Disclaimer:

    Due to the fact that individual state laws are constantly subject to change, individuals are encouraged to consult an attorney prior to engaging in any activity, action, or event in which the expressed legality may come into question. Furthermore, individuals interested in attaining information with regard to individual state legislature are also encouraged to perform independent research in order to substantiate the relevancy and current state(s) of specific legislation.

    Colorado Abortion Laws

    Within the state of Colorado, Abortion is defined as the purposeful termination of a pregnancy through procedural means. Subsequent to the decision of Roe v. Wade, abortion became legal within the United States – however, Colorado state legislation expresses a variety of stipulations with regard to a legal abortion process:

    • The statutory definition of an illegal abortion in Colorado is any medical operation which causes the termination of pregnancy by any means other than a justified medical birth

    • The statutory definition of a legal abortion is the ending of a pregnancy by a licensed physician using accepted medical procedures and with appropriate consent.

    • The penalty for an unlawful abortion is a Class 4 felony; if the woman dies it is a class 2 felony

    Colorado Marijuana Laws

    Within the state of Colorado, the possession of Marijuana - or Cannabis products – as well as the acts of growing or distributing marijuana without the expressed permission of the Colorado State Government is a punishable, criminal offense. The following penalties are associated with Marijuana within the state of Colorado:

    • Possession: Under 1 oz.: Class 2 petty offense, $100 fine; 1-8 oz.: Class 1 misdemeanor or Class 5 felony with prior conviction; Over 8 oz.: Class 5 felony or Class 4 felony with prior conviction; Public use: Class 2 petty offense, $100 fine and 15 days

    • Sale: Class 4 felony (transferring under 1 oz. for no consideration is possession, not a dispensing offense); subsequent offense: Class 3 felony, fine up to $10,000; Over 18 years old selling to minor under 15: Class 4 felony, fine up to $5,000

    Colorado DWI and DUI Laws

    Driving while intoxicated (DWI) and driving while under the influence (DUI) charges exist in the event that an individual ingests illegal drugs, alcohol, or controlled-substances, which may impair their respective ability to safely operate a motor vehicle; the following DUI and DWI laws exist within the state of Colorado:

    • Zero tolerance laws exist in the event that an individual below the legal age permissible to consume alcohol is suspected to be unlawfully operating a motor vehicle; within the state of Colorado, the Zero Tolerance Blood Alcohol Content Level (BAC) cannot exceed .02%

    • The BAC limit for individuals operating motor vehicles may not reach .08%; this can constitute a DUI or DWI offense

    • In Colorado, there currently exist no supplementary penalties incurred due to BAC levels exceeding the expressed, legal limit

    • Implied consent is a legal instrument that is employed within the realm of a DUI Arrest that entails a verbal or written contract resulting from the willing participation in a regulated activity, such as the operation of a motor vehicle; within Colorado, law enforcement agents are permitted to act in accordance with implied consent laws

    • Upon a DUI or DWI conviction, and individuals is subject to undergo the loss of driving privileges for a period of no less than 90 days’ time; penalties can range upwards of 1 year in addition to the installation of an ignition interlock device

    Colorado Gun Laws

    A handgun is a firearm whose smaller size is fashioned to be used upon operation by one hand, which typically fire single round ammunition; within the state of Colorado, handgun laws are as follows:

    • The sale, ownership, or possession of handguns with regard to convicted felons or individuals who have been in long-term care in a mental health facility is illegal in the state of Colorado; individuals carrying illegal weapons on their person during the time of a crime, aggravated assault can be attributed to any coinciding criminal convictions imposed

    • A waiting period for the purchase of a firearm does not currently exist in the state of Colorado

    • Current listing or report of forearms considered to be illegal in the state of Colorado:

    • Legal Codes: 6-8-102 (Colorado gun laws), 6-8-104 (the prohibition of firearms within a school zone)

    Colorado Adoption Laws

    In the state of Colorado, an individual who has been deemed as a law-abiding citizen who is of sound mind and moral character is permitted to adopt a child:

    • Any child under 18 years of age (ages 18-21 upon court approval) may be adopted by any adult

    • Age that child’s consent is needed: 12 years and older

    • Who may adopt: Minor with court approval or any person over 21. Married person must petition jointly with spouse unless such spouse is natural parent of or has previously adopted child

    • The Social Services department of Colorado handles all adoption cases

    Colorado Employment and Labor Laws

    • Within the state of Colorado, the minimum wage is 5 dollars and 15 cents awarded per hour of labor

    • State Holidays are listed as: New Year's Day, Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Thanksgiving, and Christmas - Veteran’s Day, Wyoming Equality Day, Martin Luther King, Jr.'s Birthday, and President’s Day result in the closing of public institutions only upon the decision set forth by the local board of trustees and government

    • Within the state of Colorado, an individual’s employ cannot be terminated in the event that they report a violation or hazard taking place with regard to their respective employment – or place of employment

    Colorado Divorce Laws

    Within the state of Colorado, a divorce is defined as the termination of a marriage, which can occur upon a decision set forth by one or both partners involved in the marriage:

    • A divorce must be filed subsequent to 60 days residence within the state of Colorado; in the event that an individual –or individuals – were married in Colorado and lived there on a continuous basis, a time constraint for filing does not exist

    • ‘No Fault’ divorce does exist on the grounds of irreconcilable differences

    Colorado Death Penalty Laws

    Within the state of Colorado, Capital Punishment – or the Death Penalty – is legal; however, additional stipulations exist with regard to this procedure:

    • In the event of mental instability authorized by a court or pregnancy, capital punishment is disallowed

    • The minimum age permissible for a capital punishment sentence is 16

    • Within the state of Colorado, homicide is considered to be the only crime punishable by death

    • The accepted means of lethal injection is lethal injection

    Colorado Gambling Laws

    Within the state of Colorado, Gambling is defined as the purposeful risking of any or all assets, property or monies with the intention of gain; a primary stipulation exists that expressed that the individual retains no control of peripheral outcome(s) with regard to any wagers set forth:

    • Off-track simulcasts are permitted. Wagering on out-of-state simulcasts is permitted. Pari-mutuel wagering only

    • Wagering on greyhound races is permitted; off-track simulcasts are permitted.

    • Casinos are limited: slot machines, poker and black jack with maximum single bet of $5. Only allowed in cities of Central, Black Hawk, and Cripple Creek. Indian Reservation casinos allowed.

    Related Articles

    Link To This Page

    Comments

    POPULAR IN STATE LAWS

    Laws Against Nudist Colonies
    STATE LAWS
    Laws Against Nudist Colonies
    The State Laws of Kentucky
    STATE LAWS
    The State Laws of Kentucky
    Guide to Finding a Lawyer
    Tips